Flower Power! My Flower Pendant Jewelry Designs

Finally got around to taking pictures of my most recent creations jewelry wise today, so here’s my post about them!

 

As I stated before, these pieces are completely created from designs I had in my head – doesn’t necessarily mean they’re original, but they are things I came up with on my own so I was happy about that.  What I’ve been working on primarily, is different types of flower pendants.  Initially, I wanted to find another way to make wire work roses, because I really didn’t like how the spiral rose way I’ve seen used looked.  I came up with these:

 

A reath of six wire work roses, with each alternating rose holding a 6 MM rose quartz bead in the center. Each flower connects to the other with twisted wire, and each rose consists of six petals, that are shaped upward, to form a rose. Each flower is facing outward, so the center of each rose is visible.

 

After a bit of experimenting, with a few different ways to make these, I decided I liked this way the best.  And what I did to make them was super simple, and with a technique I already used!  I thought, the method you use to make the petals you use to weave your Viking knit on would be perfect for making roses the way I wanted them to look.  So, I made the petals with that method, then pushed them up, and shaped them with my fingers to make them look like a 3 dimensional rose.  I left long enough stems to fasten each rose together, and tah-dah!  What I like to call, the Rose Wreath pendant was born.

 

There are a few things I definitely think I would do differently making this one again:  the pendant wiggles a bit, because I just connected each rose together by their stems.  But I think making a frame, decorating that, then wrapping the roses onto said frame would come out a lot nicer, and a lot sturdier.  Also, when wiring the beads into the centers, I found it to be a major pain doing it after I had made the roses, so I know I would do that before doing any of the major design work on another rose pendant, like I did on the flower pendant below:

 

A lily flower made out of wire, with petals woven out of blueish-gray seed beads, with silver seed beads at the tip of each petal. The lily sits in the center of a circular wire frame, and is surrounded by filigree made out of silver wire that's twisted, with leaves, branches, and small silver petaled flowers with blue centers scattered throughout each vine.

I used the Viking knit petal method for this one, too, only left the petals flat and shaped them each to points.  After that, all I did was weave beads into each petal with some 28 ga wire.  I left the stem long enough, so I could use it to wrap the flower onto the frame when I was done with it.  I really wanted to put the filigree with wire craftsy class I took to some use, and decided to embellish the bail, and other parts of the frame with some filigree.  I have a bigger version of this too, but honestly it’s far too big to be a pendant, so not sure what I’m going to do with it XD that version also had five petals, and I feel like that worked a lot better than six petals, but overall I’m happy with how this came out.  I’m going to be entering this one into the monthly contest on the Wire Wrapped Tips and Tutorials Facebook group.  I know it probably won’t get much attention, but I’m just excited to be entering something into one of those contests for once and not being like “ooooh well maybe next time” lol.

 

 

And that’s generally what I’ve been up to!  If you have any critiques on how to improve any of these designs, I’d love to hear them!  Happy makering to you all!  The post on Thursday will also be a jewelry related one, can’t wait to show it to you guys!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

