My First Braided Cabochon Capture!

Have you ever been working on another project, and while doing so, another technique you were trying to master just clicked?  That happened to me a few days ago when I was practicing an eight strand braid on some 26 gauge wire.  I was using such a thin gauge just for practice, and because I’m almost out of my thicker gauge wires (need to put an order in soon). After finishing up on my practice piece, I was like, well I better try and use this for something!  So I went to try and capture a cabochon with the braid.  Bad news:  26 gauge wire is far too thin a gauge to do more than a cage with small beads and cabs.  The good news:  The technique for capturing a cabochon with a braid just clicked, so I went to work on getting that technique down!

 

A large white glass cabochon, with a four wire braid around it's edges to capture it. The bail consists of a four wire braid, that is coiled in a circular fashion to sit on top of the stone. A green adventurine bead sits on a dangle above the braid, and a loop for hanging the pendant is above the bead.

When I first tried it, I used some 20 gauge, copper wire.  I braided the braid so tight, that I couldn’t stretch out the sections of the braid with the crochet hook, like the tutorial says.  So instead, I made a braid with 22 gauge wire,  and when I went to stretch it out for the capturing process, it totally worked!  I’m sooooo excited that I finally figured out how this capture technique works, because it’s one I’ve been wanting to figure out how to do for ages.  I just find it so pretty, and I was right:  It’s gorgeous!  I have majorly gotten into doing braided bracelets recently too, after practicing it a bit:  Like I said, I just love how it looks, and definitely can see myself using braiding with both wire and cording.  I already have some other design ideas planned with this woo!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

1 thought on “My First Braided Cabochon Capture!”

Leave a Reply

