Her Song – A Really, Really Old Pros Piece I just found

The reason why I tend to blog before I go to work on mixing a song, and creating a video?  Because I lose track of time.  I just finished working on a cover of a song, along with it’s video with a friend and then saw the time and was like oops, I still need to blog today!  So, I went to look through my old writing folders to see if I had anything to post.  As luck would have it, I do!

 

I have no clue how long ago this was written – I know it’s at lease 6 years old, I think even further away than that.  What I learned from re-reading this piece:  I’ve always had a crazy interest in sirens, and mermaids (I wrote a song called the Siren’s Ballad along the lines of this pros piece, just last year) and hoo boy this comes off soooo cheesy haha – my writing has developed so much over the years.  like, I see aspects of this style in my writing now, but it’s gotten so much more developed, and more descriptive/evoking  of  the vibe I was going for in this piece.  But enough musing about the work:  Here it is!

 


 

Her Song

By:  Crystal Dennis

 

 

I listen to her every night.

 

The song is so beautiful, so full of life and joy.  It makes me feel so complete, so calm.

 

Nothing in the entire world is as tranquil as her song.

 

She doesn’t know I’m watching her; the gorgeous beauty on her stage of granite stone.  I sometimes wonder why she always performs here.  She certainly could be a pro where ever she would choose to go.  I can’t believe how perfect, how enchanting her song is.

 

Her song is without a face; she only sings in night.  Glimmers of light grace her form, but never makes her face truly visible to her spectators.  From the sound of her voice, she sounds like a beauty beyond compare.

 

I see others joining me; others coming to listen to her at the same spot, day in and day out.  Of course, all of them men.  I wonder, what lives they leave behind to come hear her, to come hear her voice grace the cool night air.

Do they have wives?  Do they have children?  I know I don’t.  I suppose they don’t even care, as her song blocks out all other thought; all I can hear is her voice whilst she hums an unknown tune.

 

Her voice is indescribable; the closest thing I can pin it to, is a mix between an angel and a mocking bird.  It fills the skies with hope and joy.  With promise and bliss.

I suppose I know why every one comes here; she makes us feel better.  Better about our miserable existence, about our worthless lives.  She is a god sent, meant to keep us hopeful.  She is meant to keep us sane.  That is why we come here, day in and day out.  We come to be given ecstasy.

After all, she is far better than the outside world.  She is worth giving our hearts and souls to; she is worth it.  She is the love we all have been looking for.  The love that every man craves for.  A perfect angel who awaits our return every day.  She waits just to sing us her song…to sing me her song.  That is why, I must join her.

 

It will be simple enough; all I have to do is take one step forward.  I notice, that the others are following suit.

 

One, two, three four.

 

We step forward, to join our angel.

 

One, two, three four.

 

The water dampens our feet.

 

One, two, three four.

 

The sea is deepening.

 

One, two, three four.

 

Her stage is getting closer.

 

One, two, three four.

 

The light is getting brighter.  I think I can see her now.  Yes, there she is.

 

She is far more beautiful than I can ever imagine.  Her teal hair cascades down her back.  Her golden eyes lock on mine.  Her moonlight skin glistens in the eerie light.  Her thin hand encompasses mine.

 

Her emerald fin shifts on her granite stage.

 

Her full lips move to form a phrase.

 

“Come with me.” She whispers.  Her whisper is directed only towards me.

 

She begins to sing once more, her song filling my body, my very soul with its grace and beauty.  It fills my soul with ecstasy…as it is lifted from its shell.

 

I swim with my angel, through the stars.  Her song prevailing, ever softly, ever lasting.

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

