After Birthday Reflections

Yesterday was my birthday, and I turned 28.  Honestly don’t feel any older – like, some years you feel like you’ve aged, others you don’t, and 28 was just one that happened and I feel no different.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved yesterday:  I got some awesome cake, hung out with my family who made me lots of snacks, and got a few gifts from internet peeps (the gift fanfiction with my favorite pairing in Final Fantasy VI literally made my entire day) and treated myself to those chamrs I mentioned on Tuesday, and will probably buy some wire. Overall it was just a great, chill day.  I tend to also reflect on my past year, and have one of two reactions to that:

 

I either feel my life flash before my eyes and am like AHHHH what have I even done this year.

Or I go Oh hey this year wasn’t bad, and I’m on track towards doing a lot of stuff and altering a lot of things/moving towards goals that I have been striving for and will continue to do so.
Lucky for me, the reaction this year was the second!  I’ve been going through a lot of mental changes, altering mindsets, deciding what I want to do and pushing to get it done.  I’ve been going after things I want, which is something I used to do a lot, but the past few years for some reason I regressed into this really narrow minded, can’t-do attitude.  I’m working towards getting out of that now, and also working towards getting a bit more of a irl social life (always a work in progress for me lol) but I feel like, all of these things are actually obtainable for me, which I haven’t felt in a long time, and it feels good.
I also think that writing on this blog has done wonders for me.  I’ve always liked journaling, but have never really wanted to do so, because my way of journaling is on a word document and I always thought just leaving those and never opening them again was sort of a waste of time.  But, with a blog, I post it and feel like it’s documented and there isn’t a pointless act of doing my writing, because it’s out there for people to read, and for me to read, as well!  And I go to my blog so much, that I can just go back and re-read old things and be like “Wow how I’ve changed” it’s just a different way of keeping a diary for me, I guess.  Glad I started it haha.

 

But yeah, I have a lot of goals I want to meet, and I feel like if I just keep pushing myself, and not limiting myself, keeping an open mind.  I will reach them.  I haven’t felt that in a while, and it feels really good.  Here’s to pushing onwards and upwards, and having a great 28th year!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “After Birthday Reflections”

  1. First of all, happy belated birthday!

    Mine wasn’t long before yours so I can relate to what you’re talking about with regard to your reaction. I’ve only recently taken to blogging myself, trying to combine the things I love with something that has always been hard for me (writing). I wanted to challenge myself and be better in my own eyes, so a lot of what you said here really resonated with me.

    I’m glad I started it too, because I’m also finding lots of great posts from others like your’s here. Keep blogging and reaching for your goals.

    Like

    1. Thank you! One thing I love about blogging is the blogging community – I’ve met a lot of people, and found a ton of blogs through just blogging myself, so totally agree.

      Like

Leave a Reply

