The Importance of Taking a Leap, Plus some Venting

Murphey’s Law kicked into high gear for me at the beginning of the month.  My Mom went to pick up my packages at our PO box, and the one full of the charms came (they’re gorgeous, by the way) but the one with my silk and cotton cording, as well as the fairy cabs I was looking forward to using, got lost somewhere along the way of her travelling from the PO Box to home.  And, the wire I ordered got there a day later because of stupid Labor Day, so I didn’t even get any more wire so…I’m stuck working with only 28 and 26 gauge wire for who knows how long.  Maximum amount of time is six months, which totally sucks because it takes a while to get to the PO Box, and I’m super annoyed with myself for not just ordering my wire on Friday instead of Saturday, like I had planned because it would have gotten there on time then grrr.  I’m hoping we can get to the Box sooner than…six months, but I highly doubt it and I don’t want to risk not ordering any wire and it just sitting there and possibly losing it again, so I’ll just be ordering some more wire closer to the date because those packages that are just sitting there for months seem to vanish on me T_T

 

I was really angry for like, the past week, and debated a ton of options that probably aren’t the wisest decisions.  So, I decided to just work with what I have, and hope that my Mom goes to the PO box sooner than expected so I can get some more supplies.  It’s really hard to do things just with such thin gauges of wire, but I also have some memory wire I may be able to work with, and some ribbon around the house I think so…we’ll see what happens with that.  I kept on getting frustrated, and major bouts of like, pointless anger at a situation I should have planned a bit better, until finally I just realized:  I was planning to focus on music at the end of October, anyway, so why not just do it now?  And I also figured that given how much wire I bought, and how fast I went through it before, I would not be able to make things for about four months anyways if I didn’t go to my PO box because my thicker gauge wire lasted approx. 2 months.  So really, I just am not making jewelry a bit sooner (which not really that either because I can still make stuff).

 

I went through all of that to say, I was looking at things in such a negative light, it was a bit disgusting.  Like I said, I wanted to focus on my music more for the last few months of the year anyways, so I’ll just start that sooner and make jewelry with what I have.  After releasing Terris Magic Episode 5, I got a major creative wind, and have started writing more of  another series that I started writing like, a year ago because I guess the fact that Terris Magic had stopped production for so long clogged my creative flow, unbeknownst to me.  That, and I found a really cool site where you can buy lessons for learning how to play instruments blind!  I had found this website before, but for some reason I just never had bought a course before – which considering how affordable the classes are, and the fact that I’ve literally just had a guitar laying around not being played since 2012, I think I will actually try to learn playing a guitar seriously with these courses.  I say I tried to play guitar before, but really I didn’t at all.  I strummed for an hour, gave up because I’m left handed, and it’s a right handed guitar and said “Welp thems the breaks” but after asking another YouTuber who said they were left handed playing right handed, I got the drive to want to learn again.  So instead of focusing so much on jewelry, I’ll focus on covering things, and learning the guitar and see where things take me.

 

This post has been rambly, but it’s all a lot of stuff I just had to get off of my chest lol.  I’m glad I am starting to dig myself out of my negative glass half empty hole, and even though what I am about to work on is really anxiety-inducing, it’s also going to be interesting to see where all of these paths take me.  I may get into some negative thought slumps here and there, but I’m going to do my best to get myself out of them and work on all of my creative loves.

 

Also:  If you have any good tips on making jewelry with only 26 or 28 gauge wire, please let me know!  I already Viking knit, and knit wire, but I want to see if there’s anything else out there I can do with such thin gauges that I could also enjoy making.

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “The Importance of Taking a Leap, Plus some Venting”

  1. Rambling though it might be, this is a great post. It’s so easy to give up on something when we face roadblocks or get discouraged from enjoying other things. It’s really great to see that you’re using this setback in a positive way by getting and early start on your music. We should all take inspiration from your attitude here.

    BTW, I don’t meant to pry into your personal life, but why would your PO box visits be so infrequent?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks! I always have to get super annoyed/angry then take a step back and realize why I’m feeling that way. Guess it’s just how I deal with things XD public transit doesn’t lend well to getting to the box, so it’s a trip I just don’t regularly take unless I have other errands in the same area. Trying to find a way to remedy that too, but idk if I care to put the effort into it when it’s so small a problem XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

