I Learned Something Today

I don’t know how this epiphany  came about – I think I was listening to one of my favorite youtube artists (if not my favorite) and who I hadn’t heard in a long time.  She initially inspired me to write my own lyrics, after listening to  originals of hers, and inspires the style of music that I’ve always wanted to make.  She makes covers of video game and anime music in a medieval style, and plays all of her own instruments.  It’s something I strive to do eventually, and is part of the reason why I want to buy things to make my own mini one woman band.  But as the title of this post says, I learned something today

 

I want it to be easy.

 

Let me break this down:  I don’t mean I want the process to not have road bumps, I know that’s impossible.  But I want to do this with instruments that are easy to learn, like a recorder, tambourine, hand drum, shakers etc etc.  I love arranging music, and singing, and I want instruments that are easy to learn so I can spend less time learning how to play those, and more time arranging my pieces with them.  Sure they’re simple to learn, but hard to master:  and that, to me is a lot more fun than spending a ton of time having to learn an instrument.  The fun to me, is taking something simple, and figuring out how to make it sound intricate and well thought out with it in an arrangement.  That’s what the fun of music is to me, and I need to learn that it’s completely fine to do that, and there’s nothing wrong with not wanting to learn how to play a 12 string guitar or something.  I realized that my strength as a musician, and a person, is being adaptable, and making things work for me that most people wouldn’t necessarily make work for them, and that’s a strength I never quite realized I had until now.  So, I’m going to take that adaptability, get simple instruments to learn, and make the best damn covers that I can with them!

 

I hope I don’t relapse into my typical “Oh, I need all this intense stuff to do ___” mindset, I’m going to try not to.  This is definitely an important step for me as far as my music is concerned, and I really, really need to drill into my head that this style that I want to use to make music  is fine, that there’s nothing wrong with wanting to do it this way.  I don’t know why I have in my head that I need to do some structured, perfect way of making music, because honestly it’s the most flexible art form around.
So yeah, here’s to keeping my new music mindset!  XD

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “I Learned Something Today”

  1. I think this is a great idea. I know I annoyed myself trying on and off again for years to play an instrument that I’ll never be good at (piano). Being able to visualize what you want is important because it helps you find the best path to get to what you really love doing. Best of luck with this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely – I mean, I’d like to play piano but I know I probably wouldn’t be able to do more than a few cords haha. This is an idea I’ve had for a while that I always dubbed a budget band in a box, so here’s hoping it turns out well XD Thanks, I’ll definitely write more about this when I get it going!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

