My First Cooking Boo Boo

I totally spaced out about posting yesterday – well, that isn’t exactly true.  I couldn’t really think of anything to post and went  about my day.  Had to help a friend host and mix a show she was starting, and then went to watch Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure with a friend (it’s fantastically ridiculous, go check it out) and then it was 1 AM and I was lying in bed and went “Oh crap I forgot to post something” rotfl.  But, I thought of something to post about today, so I’ll just post today and tomorrow to make up for not posting yesterday so here we gooooo~

 

I mentioned last week that I was getting into cooking, and one of the first things I tried was some onion dip.  It’s super easy to make, but one step I didn’t get why you would do, and didn’t do, was caramelize the onions in a pan before blending them into the dip.  I was like “Pshaw, why would you need to do that – I’ll just blend everything together and bam super easy sauce”.
Big mistake XD the onions were really, really strong, and really spicy and honestly hard to eat.  I could tell the sauce was really good underneath the heavy onion flavor, and the day after it tasted a lot better.  I looked up why you would have to caramelize them before using them, and found out it was because it diffuses the innate acidity of the onions and makes them sweeter.  I have onions a lot with my eggs,, so I was like “Oh I get it now this would taste a lot better in the dip” after cooking them a while in a pan one day haha.

 

That was my first cooking mishap badge of honor, which honestly, my first one could have been worse.  I’ve really been enjoying experimenting with different recipes I find online, and am realizing how easy it is to cook really easy, really delicious meals.  I like that it really only takes like max an hour and a half to make something I really enjoy eating, and can’t wait to get a few more recipes to try new stuff!  Next on my list to make is sweet and  sour sauce (I made some honey glazed chicken and it was sooo tasty so I really want to do sssweet and sour chicken next) which seems easy, but I just haven’t gotten to messing with the sauce yet.  I think I need to invest in some containers for sauces and stuff, so I can make big batches and save them in the fridge.

 

Have any cooking mishaps you did when you first started in depth cooking?  I’d love to hear stories!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

