Quinoa Fruit Bowl Recipe

Along with getting more into cooking, I’ve started getting into eating healthy.  Actually, the whole reason I wanted to get into cooking was to eat healthier:  I wanted to know what was in my food, and know that there weren’t any added preservatives or chemicals to my food, and thought that just getting into cooking was the best option. Lucky for me, it’s really easy to do:  all you really need is ingredients and time, which I have an abundance of both!

 

My new favorite thing, is quinoa.  It’s a super grain that has a ton of vitamins and minerals, and is very low in fat.  The fat it does have is the healthy kind, and although I try to not eat more than one serving a day (a lot of a healthy thing can eventually be bad for you) I love how versatile the grain is.  It’s really easy to make, and it literally pairs with anything:  I’ve used it with veggies, with meats, as a substitute for rice, and just scooping a table spoon into oatmeal as an add on to the warm cereal.  It’s a taste chameleon, even though it’s base flavor is on the nuttier side.  Today, it was entirely too hot to have oatmeal, but I really wanted some without having the heat of…eating oatmeal in ma belly.  So instead, I cooked up this cold alternative – I always have some cooked quinoa in the fridge, and frozen fruits on hand too.  So I did a quick defrosting job of some blueberries and mangos, threw it, some quinoa, honey, and crushed almonds together with some salt and bam!  A sweet, but tangy delicious quinoa fruit bowl.  It was an afterthought adding the salt, to be honest – I figured, because I had almonds and honey, add the salt because those are the components of honey roasted almonds.  I didn’t realize how good it would taste against the tangy sweetness of the mango, and the burst of blueberry in there was so yum!  Definitely a new breakfast or snacking staple I’m going to add to my arsenal:  it really only takes the ingredients below:

 

1/3 of a cup mangos, fresh or frozen

1/3 of a cup blueberries, fresh or frozen

1/3 of a cup cooked quinoa

1 table spoon of honey

6 unseasoned almonds, crushed in a food processor or chopped

A pinch of salt, to taste

 

So pretty much just defrost and chop anything you have to, then add the tablespoon of honey to the quinoa, mango and blueberries that should be in a bowl together.  Add the salt as well, and mix it all to combine, then drizzle the chopped almonds on top for an extra kick of flavor.  It’s freaking amazing, trust me!

I honestly didn’t realize how well quinoa went with everything.  I kept on looking up different recipes, but really you can just experiment and be creative with it, it doesn’t taste bad in any dish.  Want a pasta?  Sub the noodles for quinoa.  Oatmeal?  Sub the oats for quinoa.  I think you get the picture here, so just go on and experiment with this amazingly delicious and versatile grain!
Do you have any quinoa recipes you default to?  I’d love to hear in the comments!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

