Starting a New Blog? Some Musings and Thinking Out Loud

Just gonna say right now this is going to be one of my more rambly, introspective jotting thoughts down I need to get out of my head posts, since I’ve had a lot of things on my mind lately.  You have been warned~

 

I’ve been toying around with starting another blog as of late, but I’m honestly not surprised.  I’ve wanted to have another blog for a while, but in regards as to what I’d like to write about, I haven’t quite pin pointed that yet.  I keep on telling myself that I want it to be a nerdy blog, where I talk about nerd culture and things I like and stuff like that, but whenever I try to write an initial post for that premise, I never quite like it.  I don’t think that’s where my passion is, even though I like all of the media I consume (which is generally nerdy).  When I look at the deeper aspects of the media I like, however, it’s always the deeper aspects of it I dive into.  More precise, I like the writing and story telling aspects of it.  Whenever I talk to my family, or my friends about a show I’m watching, I always dive deeper into the characters development, the storytelling, plot aspects of it, what characters motivations were, why and how an episode or chapter tackled the topic it was trying to tackle at hand well, how it could have done it better, things like that.  I guess I’m just a writer at heart, and dissecting topics from an author’s prospective is just so fascinating to me, but I have a hard time putting it in written words whenever I try.
So, in comes the format issue.  Should I try and write it down again?  Make videos?  Podcasts?  My mind instantly goes to doing it in a podcast format, but doing a podcast alone doesn’t seem like something people would be interested in.  So YouTube videos then?  I honestly don’t know if I’d be able to carry either a podcast, or video format without being a huge derp when I talk.  But, at the same time, I find I can express myself on these topics a lot better when I speak, than when I write it down in text.  But still, I’m torn as whether to do it as strictly audio, or as video:  Because the video would probably just be me sitting in a chair and talking.

 

Speaking of writing, I’d also like to try and write more on this separate blog.  What I envision is a blog (or I guess just a space because can’t figure out what format to do) where I talk about writing, storytelling, different tropes in fiction, the writing process, and share my writing like I do sometimes over here.  I think that’s why I always have stilted writing, when I try to just write about some sort of geek culture thing:  I like reading about that stuff, but when I’m writing, I like to look at things a bit deeper.
And that’s where I’m stumped.  I honestly don’t know if making another blog, podcast, or whatever, is a good idea.  Piling that on with my music, my current blog, and radio plays seems like it might be a bit to much, but at the same time, it’s something I’d really, really like to do.  If you have any advice, or suggestions, or comments in general, I’d love to hear them!  Because like I said I’m not sure how to proceed with this, or if it’s even a good idea to do so.

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

5 thoughts on “Starting a New Blog? Some Musings and Thinking Out Loud”

  1. My advice would be not to write/speak about things you aren’t really passionate about. You seem to have a firm handle on the things you like, so go for that instead! I am coming from a similar place as you. I started blogging because I loved anime as an art form, but also because I felt I was good at picking apart its technical aspects. Like you, I can go on and on about the story and characters and the significance of this element or that theme.

    Also like you, I have a very hard time writing about these things. I have a hard time writing in general, which brings me to the other reason I started blogging: practice. You’ve read some of my posts. They’re long because I always feel like I have so much to say, but they take hours and hours to write. I’m trying to get better at this, but I know it will take time and lots more practice. At the end of the day if I feel like I wrote something compelling, I can be satisfied.

    A podcast or youtube channel is hard work, but blogging can be as well. I’m better at writing than I am at speaking, so I would probably never attempt this, but if you find it more natural for you, I would say go for it. If it’s something you enjoy doing, all the work you will need to put into it will be worthwhile and rewarding. Just do try to keep a balance with other things in your life that are important to you. I’m struggling to find time to blog (as I said, it takes me forever to do a review) when I consider the other things I need to spend time on.

    Whatever you feel like doing, there’s no harm in trying. If it’s not working out, you can let it go. If you don’t, you may just end up regretting not making the effort.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hrm true – I never think I can start something and stop it if it isn’t working out, so I may just give it a go and see what happens. And when I think about it longer posts I’ve done have taken more time than I’ve actually taken to write some dummy posts, so I may try and put more effort into doing a post and see how I like it afterward. Didn’t realize it took you that long to write your reviews – they come out so well 😄

      Thanks for that long response though, it helped me a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m glad I was able to help! Different styles work for different people, so see what works out for you. I always enjoy your posts, so I’m looking forward to what you come up with.

        Like

  2. Ha! I had a moment like this a few days ago. My twin interests are fiction and music, and it occurred to me that anyone following me for my posts on one subject is going to be irritated when I write a streak of journal entries on the other.

    In the end, I decided to stick with my current website. With a day job and studying to do, it’s too much work to maintain two websites. Besides, having all the things I like in one place is convenient for me. I suppose my followers will have to put up with it for now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve thought about just doing some of those types of posts on here, but this blog already has so many other things on it I feel like adding another sub set of content would be a bit much. Sort of leaning towards YouTubing it, but once again my main channel is music, so I’d probably do a different YouTube channel for that sort of stuff too so…guess I haven’t really figured out anything 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

