Some of my Favorite Video Game Cover Artists

In honor of all of the collaborations I’ve been doing lately (I got asked to participate in two more woo) I thought, I would dedicate this post to some of my favorite YouTube cover artists!  Now, I’ll put out there right now:  I primarily listen to video game music, so most of the people I listen to are part of the video game music scene.  Well, scratch that:  All of them will be part of the video game music scene XD

Tera C Music

I found Tera through googling for a cover of Sanctuary from Kingdom Hearts 2.  Not gonna lie,, I only really like covers of that song, and that’s what started my hunt.  That, and I really wanted to find some female VGM artists, because I find the genre a lot more saturated by guys.  Tera has this really beautiful style of a cappella, combined with her violin playing that I just love to pieces.  Since I’ve subscribed to her, her style has definitely evolved, and is only getting better, so if you like vgm covers with a more classical twist, go check her out!

PyjamaPantsMusic

Man oh man, how can I describe PyjamaPantsMusic?  She has this beautiful, operatic tone to her voice, that I adore so much.  Her covers are so simple, while at the same time being so intricate and intense and every thing she does is just gold.  She is by far my favorite VGM cover artist, 10/10 highly recommend!

Kain White

Want some really chill, really atmospheric, video game music?  This is your channel.  Kain’s style is so great, and so developed, that I just love hearing each and every cover he does.  This style is something I strive to achieve one day, so I will always listen to his stuff for inspiration!

michelleheafy

Another person I found because of my Sanctuary hunt.  Michelle’s stuff is primarily piano, with vocals and some occasional drum work, but it’s once again all just so atmospheric, and always great to listen to.  Some days I just listen to her music when I need to kick back and relax, and it works every time~

And those are my top picks  for YouTube cover artists.  I listen to tons more, but these are the ones I always look forward to uploads from and enjoy everything they do.  Do you have any artists you love to pieces?  Would love to see in the comments!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

4 thoughts on “Some of my Favorite Video Game Cover Artists”

  1. I definitely feel the Sanctuary love. Utada Hikaru was probably my favorite artist for a long time so I think I’ll always love “Passion” more, but it’s a great song in either language.

    I’m a sucker for video game music too, so I’m looking forward to checking out these links.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. These are all really great. I really enjoyed Michelle’s pieces. Very relaxing, as you said.

        Since you asked about cover artists, have you heard of Sapphire? They don’t do VGMs, but given how much you like Kill la Kill songs, you will probably enjoy her channel. It’s pretty popular so you might have seen it by now.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have seen a few of Sapphire’s things floating around the net. I know she came out with a KLK album a while back, I believe? I’ve heard her Ambiguous and Blumenkranz and Before my Body is Dry covers, but other than that haven’t spent a lot of time looking at her channel, I’ll defs give it a closer look!

    Like

Leave a Reply

