Ruh-roh, Not Another Freak Out!

I’m in one of those non-creative lacking motivation slumps, help!

 

I don’t know what it is.  Well, scratch that, I know exactly what it is.  As I’ve mentioned before, I joined a Video Game Cover reddit a while back.  Now, don’t get me wrong, it’s been a joy being a part of the community.  I’ve participated in a few albums, am still participating, and have been meeting a lot of great people in the meantime.  Yesterday, the group started a Discord server that I’ve been too nervous to actually talk in, and here’s why.
They are all talking about a lot of musically related stuff, and I have no clue what they are talking about!  Well, more about guitars and things, and music theory things and I just feel so inadequate to everyone else in the community.  Why would someone listen to a cover of a song with a pre-existing backtrack used, when people are able to remix tracks with midi, and electronic music snizzy, or play instruments themselves?  Why is someone going to watch my videos, that either consist of video game footage or a still photo, when all of this production goes into others videos?  Who is going to want to hear me only sing, when they can hear a full blown orchestrated reinterpretation of an iconic game track?

 

Every time I share these concerns with a friend, they say only the music should matter.  And yes, in a perfect world, it should, but I know it doesn’t.  Video quality, along with sound quality and creativity matter, so why would someone listen to my music while staring at a still photo, when they can go over to someone else and see a full blown music video style dealy go down?  I feel like no matter what I would be able to do, it would be falling short, or be me having to rely on someone else to do the brunt of the work, and it’s just majorly discouraging, and the main reason why I haven’t uploaded in two months, even though I have a few songs I’ve wanted to post.  Like, sure I could just post the same old static photo to a cover thing, but I feel like at this point I really need to step up my game and just don’t know how to, or how to reach out to people that could help.

 

I’m half tempted to try and use midi software again, but every time I try to I get overwhelmed and don’t get anything done.  I can play virtual instruments, sure, but when I have to use them to mix it gets a little wonky with timing.  I’ve mentioned before I prefer live instruments, and am going to be picking up a scarce few, but how am I going to use those to start building better covers, to develop my style?  It’s just so frustrating to know what I want to do, but not know how to go about it, and seeing a ton of amazing musicians talk about it just really, really has been getting me down and I want to slap myself out of it.

 

And, I hate that I know all of this is sooo irrational, but I can’t help but think it.  That’s the most annoying thing to me.

 

I’m actually curious though:  What types of videos do you watch in the video game or anime music scene that you like?  Are they usually animated, still drawn photo, footage from the game/show?  A mix of all three?  And what makes you like  the video.  Or, do you not really care and just listen to the music.

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

7 thoughts on “Ruh-roh, Not Another Freak Out!”

  1. When I watch video game music covers it’s usually just the person singing or playing an instrument. I can’t remember if I’ve seen one with video game footage in it, but plenty of them have a static image.

    Most of the time if I’m using Youtube for music, however, I’m not actively watching it. I put it on in the background while I write or do something else. Not the best use of a video site I guess, but eh…

    I understand your worries about trying to make some of your own. Your friend is trying to ease your mind, and while that advice might not mollify all your concerns it’s really the best way to go about it. If you’ve been wanting to do some songs, why not just do them? Maybe people with super snazzy videos and tons of equipment to push high production value into it will get more views, but if your songs are good I’m sure people will like them too.

    Like

  2. Oh really? That’s a relief to hear! See I recorded myself singing as a test for me on video and like idk I feel like I should look like I’m performing a song more than just singing one? But I may be being overly sensitive in that aspect, because lack of facial expression is something I’m overly conscious about. I tried doing a video with just game footage, and it only got slightly more views than ones I had with static images (Most my static image videos get about 60-70 views and the one with the game footage is up to 95). I may just tinker with both game footage videos, and static image videos and see which I prefer lol. Or of course, just use both.

    TL;DR: I need to stop worrying so much because like you said if someone wants to listen to my stuff they will, and in the past people have listened to my stuff regardless of the video’s format. Maybe I’ll try and get some custom drawings done or something, we’ll see!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I honestly don’t watch videos when I listen to music. However, I often visualise; I conjure scenery and stories which fit the music in my head. But that never makes me go looking for music videos, strangely enough!

    I have similar concerns regarding my planned novel. I want to write, and I want people to read my work, but I dislike popular fiction. That leaves me with a problem, since any novel I write with enthusiasm is unlikely to become famous. I think I’ll just write the book I want to write and hope that the people who do read it are kind and generous enough to me to make up for the lack of a large readership.

    Remember that the quality of your fans matters more than the quantity (unless you want to make a living out of your creative works).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for the feedback! I’ll try to stop worrying so much about videos I suppose and just do what I’ve been doing. I’ll just have to tell my inner negative voice to shut up so I can keep on posting 😄

    I’ve seen a lot of people just post their fiction on blogs/tumblr, so perhaps give a go at writing and posting your novel that way? I agree, popular fiction has gotten a little eh for me, I really like the more unique kind. It’s why I prefer to read fanfiction as my primary source of reading, because people still do super unique concepts with that, and some fanfics I’ve read are written like novels so yea 😄

    The way I see it, if you just keep working at something, you’ll get both quality and quantity fans! So I guess I need to actually start working at my stuff again 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ‘I’ve seen a lot of people just post their fiction on blogs/tumblr, so perhaps give a go at writing and posting your novel that way?’

      Crystal, that’s exactly what I had planned to do. I wanted to put my fiction online for free, so I could get feedback on my writing. I loved the idea of sharing my work immediately and directly with people who were as enthusiastic about good fiction as I am.

      But then I read articles on the internet suggesting that books which have been posted online first are much less likely to get traditionally published. Apparently, many publishers consider such books to already have been ‘published’! And of course, there is the issue of plagiarism; it is much more difficult to defend your work from it without a publisher at your back.

      http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/questions-and-quandaries/should-you-post-your-novel-online-for-free

      I’m torn because I haven’t entirely abandoned the idea of getting my novel published, and I’m not sure if I should do anything that might hurt my chances of getting a book deal. I haven’t stopped writing, though.

      Like

  5. I’ll leave you a quote from Vincent van Gogh. It seems to fit the topic of your post, and it’s one of my favourite quotes on creating art.

    ‘If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint”, then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.’

    Like

  6. Ooo, love that quote. It does indeed apply to my situation 😄

    I didn’t know that about novels, that’s really interesting. As long as you keep on writing, I guess that’s all that matters!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

