Everything’s Alright To the Moon Cover

After what I considered to have been a pity party last week, I decided to stop being all overly critical of myself, and finally post this video.  I’ve had it since June, and was going to wait until after the album it was on released, then the album released and I sat on making the video because pity party I suppose.  I feel I needed that time to sort of regroup however, so when I posted this I didn’t feel like my videos were lacking in any way.  So, I asked my animator friend to use something he’s made for this video, and honestly really like how it came out!  Or rather, how people have been telling me it came out 😄 I’m not sure if it’s just because I was more confident in posting this video as it is or what, but I’ve been getting a lot of good comments on both it and the cover.  And, I feel confident in using this style often:  I’ve thought of maybe getting animations done for other videos, like I’ve seen some other YouTubers do but in order to actually have a specific custom video for a cover done I really would like to do some research and see how much it would cost to pay an animator.  In a perfect world, I’d animate it myself, but let’s be real here:  Even when I could see, I wasn’t that great of an illustrator hahaa.  So yeah, as of now in my mind, I think maybe animated videos are the route I’d like to take for a few, if not all of my videos.  Though, I’ve recently started to form the instrument collection I’ve been wanting to start all year, so we’ll see if I’d be a lot more comfortable recording myself on camera for a video with something to play while singing…once I learn how to play them!  Either way, I can see both video styles as viable options for me, so I guess woo for steps in the right direction.

 

But ok:  Here is the cover!  Everything’s Alright from the indi game To the Moon.  If you haven’t played this game, or at least watched a let’s play of it, I highly recommend:  The story is beautiful, soundtrack is great, and it’s probably my favorite indi game from a storytelling standpoint (sorry Undertale and Transistor).  If you want to check out the album it’s on, there’s a link to it in the video’s description!  There’s also a link to the VGM subreddit there, as well!

 

How do you like the video?  The song?  The game itself?  Would love to hear in the comments!

 

 

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “Everything’s Alright To the Moon Cover”

  1. I haven’t watched enough videos to comment on the visuals, so I’ll just comment on the music. Please bear in mind that I’ve never been formally trained in music!

    I liked listening to your voice. There were a few moments of wobbliness near the beginning, but overall, you have good technique. I could always understand what you were saying, so your pronunciation is fine, too. I do, however, think that your voice sounded a bit clipped; it lacks the flow that I’ve heard in some other singers. Did you mean to sound that way?

    I’ve never played the game the song is from (I don’t really play games anymore; I just listen to their soundtracks.), but I enjoyed your cover. Thank you for sharing this!

    Like

  2. I like to listen to game soundtracks of games I haven’t played/watched either 😄

    Thanks for the comment! I did intent for it to sound that way in this song in particular, but I’ll keep that in mind for later songs 🙂 the original song is all piano as the background, and someone else told me that may have thrown off the song a bit because it didn’t have any lulls because my voice was the entire song literally, so maybe that’s what you heard? Either way thanks for listening! I may redo this in the future with a piano backtrack, who knows lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

