Happy Thanksgiving! What I’m Thankful For

Happy Thanksgiving to my fellow Americans!  I know 2016 has been a rough year for everyone, but take time this holiday season to forget all of that, think positive, look ahead, and make sure your 2017 is going to be amazing.  I’m posting earlier than usual because this year, I’m going to go help out by cooking minor things that won’t ruin the dinner if they are ruined (I like to cook but my cooking confidence isn’t high enough to do a big Thanksgiving dish lol) and hang out with my family.  I am with my family all the time, so this holiday as a “Spend time with your family” holiday doesn’t seem like a big deal to me, but if that isn’t the case for you, cherish the time you have with them today.

 

I tend to find this tradition so corny, but I feel like doing it this year because I do have a lot to be thankful for.  And, I find looking at positive things is honestly the only way to keep yourself going no matter what life throws at you.  I’ve seen a lot of pessimistic  people just being negative for what I can only gather as wanting to keep themselves miserable, and that’s no good!

 

So, what I’m thankful for?

 

I’m thankful for my supportive family.  I know my Mom worries about me sometimes (a lot of the times) but she’s still so supportive in what I’m doing.  She knows music is my passion, and helps me with it in whatever way she can.  Whether it’s helping me set up for a video, buying me instruments, helping me DIY some recording equipment, whenever I ask her for help, she lends it. She gives advice when I need it, in anything that I do and I’m just so grateful.  I’m thankful for my brother too, who I can still nerd out about stuff with, even if he’s not into the same stuff I am.  We always can talk to each other about anything, really and it’s always great fun.

 

I’m thankful for the awesome VGM subreddit I’ve found:  I’ve been given a lot of opportunities by just being a part of the  community, all because everyone is so inviting, and every community activity is open to everyone.  They meet you where you are, and help as needed, and I’ve met some great acquaintance’s I hope will be friends someday.  In other musical communities, I’ve felt very stagnated at a certain point, because they say you need certain things to progress forward, that you need quality ___ to get going, or a certain knowledge base.  But on this subreddit, it’s literally “You got something, it works for you, great!  Now progress forward however works for you” they’ve never said that expressly, but it’s always the vibe I get and I’ve been embracing that mindset a lot more because of how I feel when participating in that community.  I know I would have never started buying instruments, if not for them because in the back of my mind I always thought I need high tech stuff blah blah to get going, but this community just has really opened my mind more than I thought it was as far as music production is concerned, and I can’t wait to do more with them in 2017 when I start arranging in more detail.

 

I’m thankful to all of my friends I’ve met online through this blog, YouTube, and fan fiction.net.  I’ve held some great conversations with people through all of these avenues, and have made great friends by doing so.  I originally started this blog to be a nerd blog, realized I had no real concept for that and went to what I actually started this blog for:  to talk about myself.  Or rather, blog about whatever I felt like blogging about, and this has sort of evolved into a life style blog because of that (if you can even call this that, I have no idea).  I’m so grateful that anyone even wants to read what I write, because this blog is more of a cathartic diary/journal for me than anything else when I look back at some posts.  I know I don’t have a bajillion followers or anything, but everyone who reads and comments on my posts I’m grateful for, and I’m so happy I’ve gotten to meet any, and all of you.  And now, I’m working on fleshing out my original nerd concept, and making it another blog and I wouldn’t be doing that at all if it weren’t for you readers/commenters, so I sincerely, sincerely thank you for tuning in to my random thoughts, creative projects, and hobbies twice a week.

 

I’m thankful for YouTube!  Weird one, I know.  But 2015 was a really rough year for me.  I had been living out of a hotel for six months, and looking for a more substantial place to stay.  In 2013 and 2014, I was performing around town, getting voice coaching, and working on releasing an album (which I know is harder than it looks now) and when 2015 hit, because of my financial situation, I couldn’t work on my music anymore.  Originally, I started my YouTube Channel just for a hub to post any and all of my live performance videos, but after I moved into my new place, there just weren’t as many places to perform as where I used to live.  So, I decided to post my music on YouTube!  And believe me, having an avenue to put my music, just kept me going.  It still does, and always will.  Whether my subscriber count is 10 or 10000, I’ll always post on YouTube to keep myself going.  Because as long as I see that someone clicked on my music to listen to, it just puts a smile on my face.  And, I mean, I’m going to make music my career somehow no matter what it takes, so why not post on YouTube regardless to keep my skills up?  If I didn’t have a place to post my music, I’d have no motivation to keep on practicing, to be learning how to play instruments I’ve wanted to play for years, to be increasing my skill set, and my equipment set.  So YouTube, I Can’t thank you enough.

 

Along those lines, I’m thankful to my subscribers too!  And my viewers, and commenters on YouTube.  Basically, I’m thankful to anyone who takes the time to comment on anything I post on the internet, whether it’s to just say “I really liked this” or to give constructive criticism, just the fact that you took time to click and type a comment is so amazing, thank you!

 

And lastly for this post, at least, I’m thankful that I have the strength to keep going.  I’m thankful for where I think I’m going to be going next year, with my music, my writing, my blogging, and everything I do.  Everything I do, I love to do, whether I’m paid to do it or not.  Don’t get me wrong, making money at anything creative would be great, but I’m not one of those people to be like “Sigh if only this paid” while I’m not being paid.  I love it, can’t get enough of it, and will continue  doing it all no matter what!  After all, consistency pays off eventually, right?  Right!

 

If you got through that mammoth of a post, I’d just like to wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving once again.  If you want to say what you’re thankful for in the comments, I’d love to hear!  Feel free to talk as much as I did on this post:  I realized once I got going, I just couldn’t stop!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving! What I’m Thankful For”

  1. Wonderfully said, Crystal. I love reading your posts because you always look at the bright side of things and this post shows just how much you have to draw positivity from.

    Hope you had a great thanksgiving. Keep being awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

