My New Blog: The Blind Nerd is Open for Business!

After all of the contemplations, self-doubting, and going back and forth about doing this, my first post wound up being something I super wrote on a whim.  I liked it more than I liked any other drafts for this blog that I did, went to read other anime/nerd blogs and thought their quality was better, went through about a thousand cycles of self-doubt over the past 24 hours, but in the end I stuck with it.

 

That long opening paragraph meant to say…my new blog is here!!!  I can’t be more excited, even with all of those doubts whirling in my head.  I’ve wanted to do a blog like this for a year, if not more, and after participating in the nerd/anime blog community for about a month or so now, seeing how nice everyone is and reading some amazing posts, decided to take the plunge!  I’m going to be covering more than just anime on my blog:  I also intend to do  character studies, plot studies of video games, cartoons, movies, just geek out over stuff, anything nerdy that catches my fancy I want to talk about over there.  I’ll also be talking about being a blind/visually impaired nerd, and how that effects enjoyment of the media.  So, a nerd version of this blog, more or less XD

 

I wanted to come up with a better name for the blog, but honestly whenever I thought of anything else nothing really stuck out to me.  If you have any other ideas, or like the name as is, let me know!  And let me know how you like the first post either over here or over there.  I’m so excited in that nerve wracking way right now, I can’t wait to start this new blogging adventure!

 

If you want actual information on The Blind Nerd go over to either the welcome post, or about page.  All of the information pertaining to the blog and what I’m going to be writing about is over there.
I just find it so amusing that after all of my agonizing and second guessing about doing this, I wind up just doing it after being really moved by watching Yuri On Ice.  I guess that’s just life sometimes.  I’m not sure what my posting schedule is going to be over there, I think for now I’m going to do one post a week, because those posts take a lot more effort and energy to write out than these ones.

 

I’ll be back with a post on Tuesday, as usual!  I just got so excited about doing this over the weekend, I had to post about it noooow.  Once again, here’s a link to The Blind Nerd if you want to check it out!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

4 thoughts on “My New Blog: The Blind Nerd is Open for Business!”

  1. Congratulations on your new blog! I feel like one is more than enough for me, but if you have the energy to keep a second one, then it’s probably the right choice.

    I won’t be following your new blog as I’m not interested in Japanese animation (I just like the soundtracks). I hope you’re still going to update this blog to share your music! Good luck on your second blog.

    Like

  2. Oh yeah I’m going to still be posting on Tuesday and Thursday over here, so no worries about that! I’ll be talking about more than anime over there, it’s more about nerd culture in general (though the first few posts are about anime rotfl) either way, no prob if you don’t want to follow it XD

    It’s been surprisingly easy to keep up both blogs so far! But I don’t plan to post on the new one as much as over here, just due to how much research and planning goes into the posts over there. I think it works for me because I’m heavy into geek culture anyways, like I literally just click on the sorts of things I’m talking about in all the time on the new blog so coming up with content for it hasn’t been an issue. But I’m saying that all a day into having it up, so we’ll see how I feel in a month hahaa.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah! How did I miss this? Well good work, you’ve got me following two of your blogs now.

    From your earlier posts I know how much you struggled with doing a blog like that, bu it looks really good so far! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Probably because this was posted on a not normal posting day for me XD

    Glad you like it so far! And thanks for the follow! So far it’s been a blast thinking of posts to do over there, kind of bummed I didn’t start it sooner haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

