My First Baking Victory, Brownie Success!

I’ve recently started actually getting into cooking and baking, and have been loving it.  I’m more of   a cooker than a baker for now, simply because I’ve been really nervous about baking something, and messing it up.  A few days ago, I got over that hurdle, and the results didn’t suck!

 

I’ve been collecting a ton of recipes for different sauces, dishes, and baked goods, and only have been trying the ones for sauces and cooking.  I know baking is more of a science, and if you mess that up then it just comes out wonky, but a few days ago I decided to get over that, and make some brownies from scratch.  Not only was the lack of leeway in the recipe a major nerve wracking factor to me, but cooking something for other people has made me really, really nervous because what if they don’t like it, or I ruin it?  But my family was just like “Whatever it’s just us” so I figured why not lol.

 

I got some minor help from my Mom, but not really – I did all of the mixing, and dishing out and stuff, she just made sure the dial on the oven was in the right place, and made sure I had the right ingredients and right sized measuring cups/spoons.  I’m glad she did that, because I thought some measuring spoons I use were different measurements, and now I know where certain ingredients are that I didn’t know where they were (baking powder and white flour, to name a few).

 

After all of my anxieties, it was super easy to bake some brownies!  They came out so delicious, and I’m so excited that I did my first baked good and it didn’t turn out like junk.  It’s majorly boosted my baking and cooking confidence, and I’m looking at some other breads and cakes to try this weekend (I’m looking to do an apple cinnamon bread or an easy cake, we’ll see).  I wish I had some pictures of the brownies, but we literally ate them all in a day and there were only about four left on day two, I’m glad they were such a hit!  Now I can go into the kitchen with a lot more confidence, like the other day I made pancakes and was really confident in flipping them, when they usually come out as a folded over mess.

 

I was afraid to bake for a long time, and now I don’t know what I was afraid about.  Sure there will be mishaps in the kitchen, but I’ll just take it as a learning experience if it does happen.  As long as the end product tastes delicious, I’ll say my recipe was a success!  I also can’t wait to start adding my own flare to some baked goods, too.  It’s going to be super fun to do, especially with the holidays coming up!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “My First Baking Victory, Brownie Success!”

  1. You have the right idea here. If it tastes good, you did it right!

    I’ve not done a lot of baking myself, though I remember a time when I tried to do brownies from a box, and they came out so dry. I much prefer pies and cheesecake instead that are easier to control the moisture with.

    I think in general I don’t like baking because you have little control over it after putting it in the oven. With curries and other stove top cooked dishes I can taste and adjust as I go.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. That’s part of why I like cooking too. All you can really do with baking is taste the batter before putting it in, but at the same time there is something theraputic about making something like a cake or bread on you rown.

    Cheesecake is my favorite dessert! I’m a cheese addict, in general though, I put it on everything XD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

