I’m Reading Books Again!

The world of blogging is pretty great.  I never really looked for other people’s blogs before, but that was just because I never knew how.  So when I see someone follows my blog, I check if they have one and read it.  This has led me to meet some amazing people, and read some amazing blogs, and one particular post linked to a blog with a book review, which made me realize…I haven’t read an actual book in years.  Like, I read every day, but it’s fan fiction usually, and although there are some novel-worthy fan fictions out there, when I went back to reading an actual book I realized what I was missing.  I’m kind of annoyed with myself that I stopped reading books!

 

Fun fact:  I used to read all the time as a kid.  In fact, what I wanted to do all while growing up is be a writer.  Like that never wavered, and I don’t think it ever will.  I love writing, so I channel it into song writing and radio play writing, but there’s just something about writing a novel that I still really, really want to do.  With the new technology now, you can publish a book without having to go through a publishing agent and all of that stuff, so maybe one day, I’ll wind up just doing it haha.  But, I went through a long spurt of not having motivation for storytelling.  I’m the type of person who needs to immerse  themselves in the media they want to make, and after finishing a fantasy/scifi novel in a few days I realize that’s why I wasn’t too keen on writing a novel again, because I had no motivation or no outward source to spark my creativity.  With radio plays and music, I listen to those all the time so it’s easier, but there’s just a certain polish, and different air that a published novel has over a fanfic that I was really missing, one of those things being a new world, new characters, all that jazz.  I usually listen to audio books too, so I’ve been enjoying hearing the narrators perform the books.  Overall it’s just majorly something I’ve missed, and It’s already going to be one of my goals for next year:  to read more books.
I have so many to catch up on, I don’t think I’ve read a book since 2008/2010.  I love fantasy novels, and just browsing Audible there are so many I need to read!  Sadly, most fantasy novels are four or more book series, but I’m so excited to get into them again and hopefully get new ideas for all of my creative endeavors.
So long story short:  Glad I’m reading again!  But I also realized why I stopped reading:  I can’t stop until I’ve finished the book.  I have a binging problem with anything I do, reading included.  I finished a ten hour book in like, 4 days XD I’ll try and pace myself.  It helps that you can do other things while reading audio books, so I will probably do that.  Just have to learn how to pace myself I suppose, which is a chronic problem I have. Always a work in progress!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “I’m Reading Books Again!”

  1. Great that you’ve picked up reading again. I read so much more than I used to, ever since I discovered audio books a few years ago. There are some wonderful titles and all free through my public library. Good luck with the pacing and happy reading!

    Like

    1. Audio books are great. I used to read them way way back in the day on cassette tapes (I used to have all of Harry Potter on tape and it was massive haha) it’s so nice to be able to just download a book off of audible though, and now that things come out in audio form the same time as print books it’s really great to not have to wait to read a book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

