My First Apple Cinnamon Bread

Hey guys!  As you know, I have been on a major baking kick lately.  So far, I’ve made brownies and…that’s about it other than this!  I have been wanting to make a bread for the longest time and did one last week after I made another batch of brownies.  I originally wanted to make a banana bread, but to get a good flavor from bananas you have to wait for them to get to that mushy consistency, and my family always eats bananas pretty fast.  So I thought about the other fruits we’ve had around this fall, and saw our apples and bam apple cinnamon bread came to me!

 

Apple cinnamon bread displayed on a lazy suzan

I hope it looks as good as it tasted, because it came out so good.  It had this really great muffin consistency, and it just got better and better tasting as the days went on.  I loved having it with my coffee!  I forgot one ingredient (the milk) but I’m not quite sure what it was supposed to do, because the bread tasted fine as is – I’m guessing it makes the cake a bit more moist, but the muffin texture was really great for me and I probably would leave it out anyways.  Forgot to add the cinnamon drizzle on the top before baking too, but adding it on afterwards was fine, also.
I was really surprised when the batter was done.  I was expecting it to be more of a fudgy, or cakey texture but it was like a dough.  One of my favorite parts of the baking process is everything combining together, and being able to smell the 2nd to last product of what you’ve done, and this one just tasted so yummy!  I am definitely going to use this bread recipe as my master bread recipe, I highly recommend it!

 

Below is the recipe if you want to use it.  I wish I could remember where I got it, but I looked for a bread recipe I wanted to use so long that I have a few with a few sources.  Just as a note:  A banana bread recipe is pretty similar, and I didn’t use apple sauce, and used oil instead and it was fine.  I also added actual apples, and it baked up fine, s if you want to add chopped fruit to this recipe it doesn’t change the end result.

 

 

Apple Cinnamon Bread Recipe

 

BREAD INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons apple cider (or milk)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon apple pie spice (or more cinnamon)

TOPPING INGREDIENTS

  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

DIRECTIONS

1Preheat the oven to 350° and grease a 9×5 loaf pan.

2Make the topping first: in a small bowl, mix sugar and cinnamon. Set aside.

3In a large bowl, combine butter, sugar, apple sauce, apple cider, and eggs. Stir until smooth.

4Add flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and apple pie spice. Stir until all the dry ingredients are incorporated and there are no dry pockets left. Pour into prepared pan sprinkle with cinnamon sugar mixture.

5Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

 

Hope your holiday baking is going well!  I think the last few things I’m going to make closer to Christmas are some really decadent  chocolate peppermint cookies, and a cake.  What have you been baking this year?

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

1 thought on “My First Apple Cinnamon Bread”

Leave a Reply

