My Laptop Cord is Dead!

Or at least, I think it is.  I honestly have no clue why, or how it happened:  It literally was working perfectly on Saturday, then on Sunday I heard it disconnect while it was still plugged in, but just unplugged then plugged it back in again.  Took my computer out into the living room to read a recipe while baking, then when I’m done need to plug it in.  So get my cord:  It disconnects, but I can wibble wobble the cord into really specific positions and have it stay on.  Have it charge for about four hours, so unplug it.  Go to plug it back in, and nothing happens!

 

We were having crazy winds, and a bit of a storm going on last night, so I figured it was just the power wonking in and out.  But, my heater which takes up more electricity was fine, so I got a little worried.  Instead of leaving my computer on, and listening to music to go to sleep (which I did for a while then thought better) I turned off my computer for the night, only turning it on to check the time.  Figured it would fix itself in the morning.

 

Morning comes, and nope!  It’s still not charged at all, but it held it’s charge overnight.  I figured it was going to die anyways but I wanted to save energy, so did some minor things like watch small videos on YouTube, read my blogs, check Facebook.  But, I get super bored just lying in bed doing nothing, so went out into the living room earlier than usual.  Tell my Mom what’s going on (I had also told her last night) and she says that her computer of the same brand did that to her too, and just as abruptly.  I was super upset!  I had just started working on some songs this weekend, was going to mix them this week. I had a blog post for my other blog ready, and needed to post it still, so was freaking out.  Until we came up with this solution:

 

My Mom has an extra computer that she uses for her business, that she’s letting me use as my primary computer until we get a replacement cord.  With only 20 percent left on my computer, I transferred over all the necessary files from my computer onto my flash drive I needed (doing all of my music projects, and my blog folders first).  I already have a profile on this computer, because this computer was a computer I used a few years ago, once again, because my last computer was on the fritz.  Have been using this computer all day to do my stuff, and will continue to do so until we figure out how to fix my laptop – just didn’t want to have to figure all of that out during the holidays.

 

I got everything I wanted switched over for the most part.  Didn’t get all of my music, which is a bummer:  I have a really tiny music folder over on this computer’s profile, but I do have my sleep playlist on this computer, so that’s a good thing.

 

I’m glad we figured out a solution, but I’m majorly pissed!  I’ve only had my Acer for 2 years, exactly for 2 years on December 9th, and the cord starts crapping out on me?  I’m really hoping it’s just the cord, and not something I’m going to have to have repaired internally because I’m so afraid that some computer tech guy will randomly wipe my drive or something.  I have about 50 GB worth of sound effects on my computer that I couldn’t move over because my flash drive was too small, and that’s what I’m most worried about:  I downloaded a free sound pack I love so much that was being done as a promotion, and if I lost that I would be crushed.  Luckily the rest of the sound effects are freebies, as is my royalty free music, and I have all of my covers and recipes and writing transferred over here (thank God for the small size of word docs) but yeah, I just really want this to be resolved/fixed soon.  Cross ayour fingers that this isn’t going to be more than a cord replacement, because I sure will be!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

