AHHHH AHHHH I Finally Have a Keyboard!

Not gonna lie:  I knew I was going to get this, because well, I picked it out.  But my Mom has this annoying thing where she wanted me to “open it” on Christmas, because it technically was a Christmas gift.  I thought, “OK, well at least I get to open a big old package on Christmas!” but nope, I come out in the morning and it was already set up for me to play booooo.  I got to open up the survival kit like a present, so I guess that’s something that was fun.

 

But yes, I finally got a keyboard!  I’ve been playing it all yesterday, and practiced for a bit today as well.  I figured, I’d practice 1 to 3 hours a day, and hopefully I’ll be able to play a song in a few months.  Just from the little bit I’ve played it though, it’s surprisingly easy!  I’m still getting acclimated to the keyboard, of course, but I’m already playing different cords, and doing a lot of warm ups/practice sessions that are just me learning how to play cords with the right fingering.  I’ve been watching a lot of helpful YouTube videos, as well, and the fact that I already was practicing chord progressions on a virtual keyboard on my computer has helped tons, too.  Having it all laid  out in an actual piano format helps me so much though, and I’m so so so so sooooo excited to use it in covers, and be able to play it in general!

 

I think my major two things I will have to work on, are getting my right hand to move like my left one on the keys:  I’m left handed, and I noticed that it’s a lot easier for me to handle that side of the keyboard because of it.  So I’ve been focusing on building up the muscle memory on both hands (but more on my right) and it’s helped already, I can tell.  Getting my fingers to not knock other keys has been a minor issue too, so I’ve just been going up and down the board with scales and when I hit two keys, starting over again.  All in all though, it so much easier to pick up than I expected.  I’m not sure if that’s because I’ve been really into music lately or something else, but I’m not complaining!

 

The Yamaha survival kit is kind of an annoying add on you have to buy, because it comes with the AC adaptor.  It also comes with a sustain peddle, and some headphones you can plug into the keyboard so you don’t bother people while you’re practicing, so it was a good extra purchase.  And, once you buy it, it can be used for any Yamaha Bran keyboard, so worth the extra money.  I really like the tonal quality of the grand piano base setting, it sounds great.  The extra keyboard voices are…hit and miss (the brass section is so ugh XD) but I was surprised that a violin voice in there doesn’t sound terrible.  Haven’t gone through all of them yet, because I’m more focused on just learning to play, but it’s nice they’re included on their nevertheless.

 

I got sidetracked this year, but I really want 2017 to be a year for music.  I’m excited to continue learning how to play my keyboard this year, and I plan to buy other instruments to compliment it.  But AHHHH AHHHH, I finally got a keyboard!

 

Did you get any Christmas gifts you’ve been wanting for a while?  Would love to hear what you got in the comments!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

