My First Attempt at Making Truffles

I was debating posting this or my resolutions from this year and what I did/what I am carrying over and planning for next year, but I figured I’d post this one and do that next week since it will officially be the new year.

 

I’ve wanted to make candies for a really long time.  Another goal on my baking bucket list (I have a lot of those) and when I looked up how to make truffles, it was super easy and I had everything you’d need for it.  All you need is 12 ounces of chocolate (1 and a half cups) 1/3 of a cup of heavy cream, and that’s it for the base.  The rest of it is up to your flavor preference, but the recipe I had said to add vanilla extract, so I did as well.  Then, just throw it into the fridge, let it set, and after about an hour or 2 you can form the chocolate into balls.  I’ve seen some recipes add things to the chocolate after it’s set, and that’s what I did, but one thing I did wrong was adding some frozen blueberries that were defrosted, but still wet.  That totally messed up my truffles!  When I looked at the chocolate after putting the blueberries in, there were major watery patches that kept the chocolate all mushy, and not let them harden.  It still tasted good (they come out tasting delicious) but having a watery surprise was not welcome lol.  Next time, I’m going to make a fruit syrup if I want to add a filling, I think that would work a lot better because I tend to have frozen fruit on hand.  Plus, even though the blueberry was able to be tasted, it was kind of weak against the chocolate so I’m definitely going to try either dry candies, nuts, powder or fruit syrup in my next batch.  Another thing I may try is melting a bit of butterscotch chips in with the chocolate, that would probably taste really good.  But yeah, TL;DR:  don’t use watery substances in your chocolates.

 

The second thing that I know I’m going to do, is something I probably should have done the first attempt.  I actually thought about doing it after I was done shaping this first batch of truffles, and was like erg why didn’t I think of it sooner.  But, using some sort of chocolate mold.  Most recipes say you take a spoon and shape them into balls, but when I did that it was just a huge mess that half got on my hands.  Next time, I’m going to use an ice tray or pan or something:  Just anything that can keep its shape that I can pour instead of having to shape with my hands.  I really only take pictures of finished products when I think they look good, and these looked like disproportioned  blobs of goop, instead of pretty little truffle balls haha.  Live and learn, I suppose, but it was frustrating to spend all of that time working on them and have them look like crap.  I estimate with the recipe I used, you’d get eight truffles, but because I had problems with the mixture sticking to my fingers, and to my spoon, I got about six.  So yeah, next time, the process I plan to do is make my filling (if it isn’t powder I can just add) melt the chocolate and cream, add my fillings/extra flavor agents, pour into a mold and then let them set.  I think that process for me would be a lot easier, and make a far more visually appealing product.  I feel like using a teaspoon or table spoon works better for sighted bakers, but not for me.

 

I don’t want to use all of the chocolate chips I have left before going shopping again, so I think I’ll just pick up an extra bag to mess with and attempt some more truffles.  It was fun trying to make some for Christmas, and it’s going to be fun making some more and playing around with them:  They’re so adaptable, and you can add anything to them, so it’s going to be fun experimenting with different truffle flavor combonations.

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

