2017 Goals

A new year, means new resolutions!  I don’t consider these resolutions though, more like goals.  I looked at my 2016 goals and tacked off all of the things that I did from the list, and I did about half of them.  That’s usually my record, but there are a lot of goals I usually repeat.  So this year, I thought instead of picking a ton of somewhat willy-nilly goals, I’d Have two sections for my goals.  Music related goals, and non-music related goals.  I decided to pick two central things I’m really interested in doing, and having the rest of my goals be things I already do, but wanted to structure a bit more (the anime watching and book reading).  So, the two things I picked are, music and baking!  Since I’ve really been enjoying baking and cooking and want to continue doing so this year, and as anyone who reads this blog knows, I’m very passionate about making music.  I also feel like everything on my list is very obtainable for me, if I do what I am considering my buzz word for the year:  Focus.  I have a tendency to hop from 1 hobby to another, and then I get frustrated when something I am more into doing than what I’ve been doing gets thrown on the back burner.  Also a reason why I decided to focus on two categories this year, as well.

 

But anyway, here are my goals for 2017!  Let me know if you have any goals for the year in the comments below!

 

 

Non music related goals:

  • Organize, clean, and decorate my room
  • Bake at least 1 baked good a month.
  • Read at least 30 books this year.
  • Watch 20 anime this year that I haven’t watched before, or that I haven’t started in 2016.
  • Stay on top of posting on both of my blogs.
  • Engage more in both the blogging and YouTube community.
  • Try not to close myself off to people and be a bit more outgoing.

 

Music related goals:

  • No matter what quality I think it is, write, produce, and release an original song every two months. This is to try and beat the perfectionist self doubter out of me!
  • Collaborate with more people on music projects!
  • Practice playing the keyboard all year. Use keyboard in a cover before March.
  • Muster up the courage to participate in cover contests on Pixel Mixers and on YouTube.
  • Also muster up the courage to show my face on YouTube 😄
  • Buy acoustic foam reflection shield for home studio.
  • Have a full arrangement of a song that I did myself (percussion, strings etc etc)
  • Start posting music on a site where music can be sold.
  • Stop being so hard on myself, and stay focused
  • Up the video quality of my YouTube videos.
  • Up the musical quality of my YouTube videos – start composing my own arrangements that aren’t just a cappella.
  • Keep on collecting instruments, but these ones specifically:

Chimes

Hand drum

Claves

ocarina

Mountain dulcimer/strum stick.

Castanets

 

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “2017 Goals”

  1. Fantastic goals, Crystal. I’m glad to see the 20 anime goal there. Did I inspire you at all? 🙂

    You’re aiming to do a lot, but it’s better to have too much than not enough, I think. Being able to focus is definitely super important, and being strict about schedule is the only way I got my challenge done last year. Start working on something and stay committed, and I’m sure you’ll achieve satisfying results.

    Looking forward to hearing more of your music too. I couldn’t write an original song every two months if I had a gun to my head (then again I’ve never written one!). I wish you the best of luck with all of this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yep you defs were the inspiration for the anime goal! At first I had it at ten but figured that was too little but 30 was too much with the other stuff I wanted to do, so settled on 20.

    Yeah, I prefer to set myself up to do more than less because if I don’t finish something I just move it over to the next year. The song writing one is going to be interesting, I’m definitely going to have to push myself more than other goals on that one 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

