Piano Playing Progress – Two Weeks

I thought it would be fun to keep a log of my keyboard/piano progress, because what else is a blog for if not for doing something like that?  I’ll be updating with this little feature every 2 weeks, or every month, haven’t decided yet.

 

Surprisingly, it’s a lot easier to play than I expected!  Like learning the chord progressions I’ve got down for the most part, at least in the major scale.  I’m still working on training my fingers to play minor, inverted, and diminished cords, and getting the layout of the keyboard memorized a bit more.  Like, sometimes I hit the right cord, and sometimes I jump down to half a step more than I was expected.  I think that’s mainly because I start thinking about where my fingers should be:  Instead of letting my hands take over and sort of have my brain check out.  When I over think, is when I start to trip up, so I need to get more out of my head.

 

What’s been frustrating me (and I know it shouldn’t since I’ve only been playing for 2 weeks) is hand coordination.  I want to be able to play with both hands already!  I’ve been focusing on training my hands to play together, because I saw this really helpful tip about doing that where your hands really aren’t playing different things, you’re using the same fingers to play the cords, just on different spots on the keyboard.  And, that trick has helped me a lot!  I’ve been doing this warm up where I use my right hand to play a descending  progression, while my left does the harmony cords.  I can do it fine fast, but when I slow down for some reason it’s harder for me to keep both hands going.  But once again, I’m being too hard on myself and hand coordination is something that will grow over time.

 

I’ve been hashing out some song melodies and stuff too, which has been fun.  A few have gone well and a few…not so well, but I feel like I need to read up more on song writing and music theory just to refresh my memory.  It’s annoying when you have a melody in your head and try to play it on piano and just can’t though grrr.  I’m trying not to get overly frustrated, because I honestly think I’ve made a lot of good progress over the two weeks I’ve been playing, and the things I’ve been trying that I’ve failed at have been some decently advanced stuff.

 

But yeah, that has been my progress so far!  I’m excited to use my keyboard in a cover, I’ve been practicing some patterns for two or three covers that I need to just record.  Am excited and nervous to have my lacking keyboard skills be shown in a video XD

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

4 thoughts on “Piano Playing Progress – Two Weeks”

  1. Well now I’m really jealous.

    I would love to be able to play keyboard/piano well, but I never really learned the proper way. On top of that, getting my left and right hand to do different things at the same time is almost impossible for me. Knowing how to read music helps, but the only thing I’ve managed to learn is the right hand side of “Cruel Angel Thesis” 😦

    I can’t even read bass clef, so playing the left hand properly has a lot of challenges for me. What are you using to teach yourself, if I can ask?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tbh I’m just watching a ton of YouTube videos. The two channels I’ve found the most use from are Mangled project and Bill Hilton I believe his name was, they teach really well. Piano Genius.com is a good resource I found, but I only watched a free trials worth of videos (it’s a monthly subscription sort of website but the videos I saw were really useful).

    lol I think my left handed playing comes easily to me because I’m left handed. My right hand is a lot harder to remember that I should be doing something with it. I’ve been looking up what you should be doing with your non-harmony playing hand and that’s the hardest for me to grasp atm but I’ll get thereeee!

    This is what works for me, though. I’m really into self teaching myself things XD I’ve seen a lot of articles say you should get some sort of professional lesson but I’m like nah that’s ok lolol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll give it a try. I really just want to play for my own enjoyment, so if I can use self-teaching resources I think that’s best for now. I’m sure you’ll reach your goal since you are talented. I’m just a robot, but I’ll try to follow in your footsteps!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

