Final Fantasy I Lute Cover, The First cover with me on Video!

Final Fantasy I Lute cover

If you just want to listen to this collaboration than click above.  If you want to read this blog post, then continue below!

It seems like it was ages ago, because it sort of was, but I just found out yesterday that one of the collaborations I helped out on dropped!  I thought it was super amusing, because the way I found out was by getting an email from someone who saw it, and asked me to collaborate with them.  So I replied back with “I didn’t know this was out, thanks for letting me know, and yes I’ll collab with you!” because collaborating more was one of my resolutions anyways, so might as well start the year off right!

This is the collaboration that I recorded video for, and from what I’ve been told it turned out really nice!  Not gonna lie, I was both really excited and really nervous to have myself on camera for a cover done like this, because I’ve only ever been on camera for live performance videos.  Recording and setting up to record video was pretty impromptu, but after pestering my friend with all of these questions about how it turned out, I came to the decision that I wanted to record myself singing like this, because in the end I’m super proud of how this turned out, and it’s a sense of pride that I haven’t gotten from my videos, to be honest.  Like, I got a major shot of motivation after seeing this dropped, and knowing a general outline of how it looked as opposed to just posting a generic picture with a cover felt really good.  My major concern has always been thinking I don’t look like I’m performing, but my motto this year is stop over thinking and being such a perfectionist, so I’m going to try and shove that aside and just record myself on video.

One major thing I was nervous about was just…sitting and singing, too.  But now that I have instruments I can be playing in different frames of the video, I don’t think that will be an issue!  So my new game plan is to get my room turned into a hybrid home recording studio/home YouTube studio (and by room I mean like, one corner lolol) but overall I’m super pumped to get this going, like I said I’ve never felt motivated to make music as much as after this video dropped because I knew I put my all into making this collab a success.  In the past I knew I could do better, wasn’t sure how I could make my videos better, and then half-heartedly made a video and always felt like I could be doing so much better but held myself back for some reason.  Recording that footage, and knowing how it came out just shoved all of my excuses out of my head and had me going “What am I dragging my feet for?  Let’s do this” because if I can record footage with no issue for a collab, then why not for my own videos?

I’d love to know what you think of the video, and the cover!  The first draft of the mix I heard didn’t sound as good as this, so I was super happy to hear how well it turned out.  If you notice anything I can do better on my end of the video, please let me know because I’d love to improve on recording!  Hopefully I can find an editor to do the sorts of stuff I want, my brain is already churning with how to be able to get across what I’d want edited in a video and all that jazz.  But it’s super exciting to not only have this released, but to be concocting a new style of video for my channel!  I really, really want to put my all into my YouTube Channel, and digital music distribution as a whole this year because it’s something I’ve always said I’d do but haven’t.  I’ve only had my channel for a year, and the amount of views and subscribers I’ve gotten for the type of videos I’ve made in the past aren’t tooo bad but still, I want to work really hard this year on upping my quality, and my subscriber count and actually do that and not just say it!
So TL;DR:  Hope you enjoy this cover, and the video with ma face in it!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “Final Fantasy I Lute Cover, The First cover with me on Video!”

  1. Finally got some time to check this out. You did a great job, as always! This strategy of not worrying about every little thing is definitely paying off. Maybe it’s a good thing that this was a collab, because someone else could make the decision to post the video. Now that you’re in one maybe you’ll stop being so paranoid about posting your own 🙂

    Your music seems to be really taking off, so making a dedicated space for it is a good idea. I’m pumped that you’re pumped! Excited to see more videos from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely! That was one of the main reasons that I said ok to doing the filming in the first place, because I knew the decision to post would be out of my hands so I would not be as hyper-critical, because I couldn’t be if someone else was in creative control of the video creation.

    Ugh I’m super anxious to get working on stuff, I hope I can keep this momentum when I actually get to the working on stuff haha.

    Glad you liked the video!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

