Baked Good of the Month: Cheesecake

One of my resolutions was to bake a baked good every month, but more specifically I wanted to bake a new baked good that I hadn’t cooked before every month.  SO like, I’ve made brownies before, but that wouldn’t count because I’ve made brownies before.  Which, I’ve been craving brownies so I probably will make them  soon 😄

 

I really wanted to know how to make my favorite dessert of all time, cheesecake!  So I hunted down a recipe, but thought it was too big for what I wanted to do (I honestly can’t bring myself to use 2 packages of cream cheese for one dessert, that’s cray) plus, I live with three people, so a cheesecake that big would be a lot to eat.  I luckily found this eight inch cheesecake recipe, and tried it, to good success!  I say good and not great, because for some reason one of the sides hasn’t fully set, and is still a little custard-y after a few days.  I wanted to look up why that happened, but I feel like it had to do with the sour cream topping part.  When I pulled it out of the oven the second time, I put the cake on an oven mit I didn’t realize was on the counter and some of the sour cream part spilled over.  Either that, or I didn’t mix the egg in fully?  Who knows.  I’ve been eating it anyways, but it’s slowly been setting while one side set overnight.  Super annoying!  But the one set side has a really good texture, it’s just the middle part that is all semi-goopy still.  Ok, when I looked up the recipe to link here, it had ¼ cup of milk as an ingredient!  I swear it wasn’t there when I first looked at it, so I wonder if that would make a difference O.O this is so baffling, I know I didn’t skip over it!

 

Either way, it’s really easy to make and I’m excited I can make it!  Now I don’t have to spend tons of money on a cheesecake if I don’t want to 😄

 

I used a pre-made crust, so next time I want to make my own with some cookies or something.  But the pre-made gram cracker crust tastes delicious with the filling, and it gave me an idea to another dessert I want to try that me and my brother sort of just made up on the fly haha.  Can you tell I like baking way more than cooking?  I mean I cook too but Baking is a lot funner both to eat and to make, it’s really creative for me!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

