Getting Things Situated

Since my computer has been on the fritz, I’ve been really stagnant in doing things I’ve been wanting to do, mainly with recording and arranging because my Mom’s computer doesn’t have all of the things that mine has for audio.  When I tried to mix something, it crashed whenever I tried to add one of the heavier effects, so I’m trying to keep mixing to a minimum.  Luckily, I can still record on here, so the collabs I’ve been asked to work on are still going to be happening but as far as content on my channel I don’t think I’ll have any for a while, which majorly bums me out.
I found out through a few more tech savvy friends, that the charging cord probably isn’t the issue.  I guess Acer computers have a problem with soldering?  And a chronic issue with them is that the area where the cord plugs in gets  loose and doesn’t take a charge.  I decided to order an extra cord just in case, but I’ve been looking for computer repair people around my area that may be able to fix the issue.  But now I’m super nervous my computer will catch on fire or something if they don’t know what they are doing rotfl.  I don’t have everything backed up on my computer either, so I’m kind of mini-freaking out over looking for a computer repair place and getting this fixed, or I dunno, just buying another computer all together ugh.  Worst case scenario, I buy a new computer and pull the hard drive out of my old one and make it an external.

 

But anyway!  Instead of dwelling on that stuff, I have been putting things in order for my YouTube channel, and home studio setup.  I’m super excited to DIY a portable recording booth for my mic, and just bought some acoustic panels to use for it.  I have everything else already at home, and I have plans to glam it up with pink paint and possibly glitter-tasticness with my Mom 😄 I love Nintendo’s Kirby, so I may get a print to put on it too, we’ll see when I actually get to designing it!

 

The other thing I’m super excited about is that I finally got my Pay Pal in working order again!  For months I wasn’t able to log into my account because it would ask me to make a business account –shakes fist-.  I emailed customer service and got no response, so yesterday I was determined to get it resolved by staying on the phone until I got an actual human being to fix it.  I got said human being, and they downgraded my account back to personal, and it was so nice to see the account summary page of my Pay Pal again!  More importantly, I can use it to pay to commission people for things like audio mastering and graphics and stuff again EEE!  It was such a huge relief to get that situated again, like seriously!

 

Right now I’m just exploring YouTube, figuring out what I should be doing to optimize my channel, along with that, I have some other things I’m getting ready to launch with my next video, that I can’t wait to get working on!  I really hope I can get my computer fixed soon because as grateful as I am to my Mom for letting me use her secondary computer, man I miss mine so much!  You get attached to your computer when you use it for everything lol.  But at least I can still do half the things I do on here, just not being able to make music myself is making me really anxious 😄 but baby steps, baby steps.  I’m still working towards my goals so I will just keep telling myself that!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

4 thoughts on “Getting Things Situated”

  1. Geez, what’s with peoples’ computers breaking lately?

    I use an Acer laptop myself, and the only thing that bothers me about it sometimes is some noise from the hard drive which may be a sign that it’s going bad. I’ll have to replace it soon I guess, but I’ve been too lazy to create an updated backup. The last one I took was probably months ago.

    If the computer has power issues and stops working for a while, you should be able to connect your hard drive to another machine and get the data off it, so no worries there. Just the pain of getting a whole new machine again. I know what you mean about getting attached to the one you have.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wait, you can transfer data with the computer off? Witchcraft! How would you do it, just get a double sided USB cord or something?

    I’ve only had this computer for 2 years, so I’m majorly bummed it’s already wonking out on me haha. I’m used to computers from the early 2000s lasting forever, so having to get this one fixed so soon is a little disconcerting. Glad to hear it’s easy to get the data off of it though! I sort of just want to get a new computer, I feel like that would be a lot less of a hassle but we’ll see 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well you would have to actually take the hard drive out and connect it to another computer. Al I meant was that if the HDD isn’t damaged you can pretty easily get the data off.

      I built 2 computers that lasted me probably 5 years each. The ones I’ve bought from stores afterward only go 3 years max before I have to replace something. They build them too cheap these days.

      Like

Leave a Reply

