Baked Good of the Month, Chocolate Chip Cookies (sort of)

The baked good I made this month was chocolate chip cookie…muffin…pie…things!  Ok, so they were supposed to be chocolate chip cookies, but they didn’t’ turn out that way.  They tasted like chocolate chip cookies (were really delicious) but the shape wasn’t at all like a cookie for either batch I made.  So, story time!

 

When I bake things, I use a toaster oven.  For a multitude of reasons:  It saves on my gas, and all in all is easier for me to use.  I want to upgrade to a table top oven, so I can make full batches and bigger things but that’ll come later.  Because I bake in a toaster oven, I have to make smaller batches of things, and it’s hard for me to put the little tray in while the oven is warm without it being crooked.  So, I try to not have to do that, and one of my tricks is using little serving trays, or pie tins, or these cute little six count toaster oven muffin tins I have.  I figured, “I’ll just put my cookies in the muffin tin, no problem!” and loaded a ton of dough in (I like thick cookies).  Not only did it take three times as long to bake, but my cookies rose into muffins!  I didn’t know that could happen, since I had no baking powder in it and only used baking soda.  But when I thought about it, it makes sense because the cookies spread when baking, and when they had nowhere to spread out their natural way to go is up! but it was cool finding out that they could rise like that, I wasn’t expecting it at all!  I creamed the sugar with an electric mixer, which my Mom went “Isn’t that just for making a cake?” so I think the air in the creaming process can make the cookies rise if you put them in something like a muffin tin, or cake tin.  The consistency the day of is like a muffin, but letting them set overnight makes them taste like those really delicious cookie bars you can buy from those Nestle Tollhouse stands in the mall, so good!  I assume it’s how those cookie cakes are made, too:  it has a cookie texture, while being doughy and thick and really tasty.  So although I didn’t wind up making cookies with that batch, I learned how to make cookie bars!

 

The second batch, I made in a nine inch pie tin.  I thought I spaced out the cookies enough, but since I like thick cookies, I had big globs of dough not spaced far enough apart.  This batch cooked a lot faster than the cookie muffins/bars, (about fifteen minutes) but when I pulled them out, they had all merged into this giant, nine inch cookie.  So, once again, something different coming out of a cookie haha.  It was like those giant Pizza Hut cookies you can get, so I took a pizza cutter and sliced it into pie slices.  This ginormus cookie had the consistency of a cookie, really crispy on the edges, while being really gooey on the inside.  The day after, they got to a really soft cookie, the kind I love!

 

So all in all, a baking success!  I love those “mistakes” that turn into something completely new, it was really fun discovering all of these things that I could make, just by mishaps happening.  Now I know what to do differently next time:  I read another recipe that said to space the cookies 3 inches apart for bigger cookies, and to spoon them out in a ¼ cup measurement.  In a toaster oven that’d probably make about four cookies at a time, but I’m used to that so no big deal.  It’s funny though, the recipe said it made 24 cookies, and I’m assuming it meant Chips Ahoy sized cookies, because with the size of cookie I like, I got about ten cookies.  I like this recipe a lot, but for the size of cookie I like to make at home I think I’ll switch to a bigger batch recipe.  I’ll probably get 20 cookies out of a recipe for 40, I really like big cookies ok!  If I wanted a tiny little thing to munch on, I’d go buy a pack of Chips Ahoy:  Not gonna spend all of that time making homemade cookies, and not having them be ginormus and indulgent and delectable!

 

That was my baking adventure for this month. Not sure if I’ll make anything else (I probably will because we’re stocking up on flour soon) but I’m excited I made cookies, because I’ve been wanting to for a long time.  Next I want to either make thumbprint or oatmeal raisin cookies, I haven’t decided yet.  Ooooh, or I could smoosh oatmeal raisin and chocolate chip together and make oatmeal raisin chocolate chip bars, yum!  Baking cookies was really fun, and really easy.  Can’t wait to try making more!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

