My Computer is Back Yaaaay!!!!!

On Sunday, I had a bit of a scare with my Mom’s computer where it wasn’t charging for a while, so for the next 2 days I didn’t use it.  I wound up just not going on any computers, because I was afraid I would wreck someone else’s to be honest haha.  Not gonna lie, it was actually really relaxing to not be on a computer for a few days!  I went a little stir crazy sure, but my brain felt like it was freed up and I had a lot of creative ideas going through my head.  Would I go through a few days without a computer again?  Probably not, but it was an interesting experience nevertheless.  A while ago I ordered a new cord, and got it today because I figured I could try to just plug it in and see if my computer booted up, then if it didn’t boot up go from there.  Never had to get that far, because plugging in the new cord worked!  Who knew the only problem was my cord dying? I’m not surprised because it was pretty bent out of shape when I looked at it.  I’m going to order another cord just as backup, but EEE I’m so excited to have my computer back!  Now I can go back to making music, and install the drivers for my keyboard on here!  I think I’m going to wait on installing my music VSTs just in case something else goes wrong, and let my computer regroup before doing any heavy lifting on it like mixing, but AHHH AHHH I’m so excited to be writing my blog post on here, instead of a borrowed computer!
I got an Acer Cloudbook as a backup, but so glad I don’t have to use it now!  Fingers crossed nothing else wrong happens on my computer, can’t wait to start creating and using it again!!

 

In other news, I picked up a lot of musical stuff!  I really wanted a hand drum, and went to Guitar Center to pick up a djembe drum.  I was thinking of ordering one, but figured I’d be going up to where Guitar Center was and could just get it there.  It looks so cool too, and I have some covers that I’ve been wanting to do that are more tribal/folk sounding that I know it will sound perfect on!  It has a great sound.

 

Picked up my Yamaha Recorder also, and the sound of it is gorgeous!  I got a 1 dollar recorder from Dollar Tree that sounds like garbage by comparison, like even not playing the Yamaha well, it sounds so beautiful.  Also know the first thing I’m going to use that in after I practice a bit, super stoked to finally have it!

 

Let’s see, what else?  I got my acoustic foam as well, and am going to be DIYing the portable recording booth for my microphone.  I realized last week that the pillow fort I was making really wasn’t doing me any good, so I’m anxious to see what my mic with the foam around it will do.  I got 24 panels, so I can use more if I need to around the room, but really I just got those for extra in case and am going to make one box to fit around my mic.  Can’t wait to try it out after building it, I’m going to do a back to back sound test to see how much of a difference it makes!

 

All in all, the last few days have been pretty good.  Going to recoop after such a long week, but next week I’m going to start cracking on all of the covers I’ve been wanting to work on with this computer.  EEEE can’t wait!  Time to go catch up on all of my blogs, so many notification emails in my inbox lol.

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “My Computer is Back Yaaaay!!!!!”

  1. Ugh, I’ve been through enough charger problems to last a lifetime. It’s really great that nothing was wrong with your actual computer. I’ve have more of those cases than I care to deal with as well!

    It’s funny how different things seems when you’re without a computer for a few days. Even now, people usually have a mobile device to distract them too. Sometimes I feel like going somewhere, but then I’m like “ehhhh but what about internet?”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was both relieved and super annoyed that all the problem was was teh cord haha. I’m glad I didn’t have to open up my computer to do anything though, because that gives me more anxiety than not having it up and running for a few months 😄

    Yeah! At first you’re like uuuuugh but after a while having no internet is pretty chill. I feel like your brain gets less clogged with pointless noise because you can’t just hop onto YouTube when you’re bored and you actually start to think. But like I said, doubt I’d be off the internet by choice lolol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

