Inuyasha Piano and Vocal Medley

Inuyasha Piano and Vocal Medley – YouTube

 

This cover has been an interesting journey.  It took me a month to get every part the way I wanted it.  Initially, I wanted to just make it Kagome’s theme, and also initially, I had a lot less dynamic playing:  When I first recorded this, I was only using the right hand pattern and when I went to record a demo of vocals over it, it just didn’t sound right to me.  That cover was recorded before I had recorded the Lufia cover, which has a pretty basic chord pattern as well, but I really wanted to practice more dynamic playing on this one, so went back, and added the left hand chord progression underneath the right hand melody chords and this was my end result for Kagome’s section.  And I hope that made at least a little bit of sense 😄
For the Inuyasha’s theme section (the middle section) it was really straight forward,  For the Kagome section, I made it a bit different than the chords played in the original, but for Inuyasha’s theme, I legit just copied the chord progression from the original verbatim.  So no major hurdles to jump over for that one, It didn’t take me long to record.

 

 

Now, the Kikyo section has quite a tale!  When I’m arranging a track, I do everything by ear, so I was listening to the original version which as a background, had descending scales consistently going.  I think maybe because this version uses strings and woodwinds as the main melody, that simplicity wasn’t working with my voice.  I was ready to scrap adding Kikyo’s theme to this, and just make it its own cover at a later date, but then I ran across the version of her theme that has vocals, and it clicked!  So I used a variation of that as the chord progression for her section…and played it entirely too long 😄 I didn’t want to completely edit it down (I had to do some editing regardless, but some cuts were just plain awkward and not fitting) so had to figure out what to do near the end.  In one of my late night inspirational strokes, it hit me again!  I was singing along to the track when I realized:  both Kagome and Inuyasha’s themes fit really well as counter melodies underneath the last round of Kikyo’s  When I recorded demos.  So, when I went to record for real, I did that, added the last bits of embellishments, and bam, my medley project was complete, and five minutes long!  Wasn’t expecting that length to be honest, but it was cool to see all of my work turn into a full-fledged track when I had been working so hard on it.

 

That being said, I opted not to record myself playing piano on this one.  By the time I was recording video for it, I would have had to re-teach myself all but Inuyasha’s section, and didn’t really want to put the effort into doing so.  So on this video it’s just me singing, but I did play the piano on this track, regardless.
It was really cool with this cover, too, because it’s the first post that I set to be charged to patrons over on my Patreoen Page!  Not going to lie, it was a really great feeling being supported by my patrons, and sharing my cover early with them, conversing with them etc etc.  I’m really excited to make more content for patrons, and grow both my YouTube and Patreon pages this year!

 

And that’s all for this cover.  Eventually, I’d like to make videos detailing stuff like this, I’m wondering if you guys would be interested in that?  Also, I’m trying to think of different ways to stage recording video, so if you have any suggestions, I’m all ears!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

