Baked Good of the Month: Cookie Bar Double Feature

I have a confession to make:  I’m in love with cookie bars.  After my mishap with making them last time I made chocolate chip cookies, I’ve just fallen in love with them.  You don’t have to worry about sectioning them off like cookies, or them bleeding together by accident, and they taste just like cookies, only they’re the thickness of bars with a nice crunchy top like a cookie and mmm they’re so good!
Needless to say, my baked good of the month is a double feature!  I’ve been in the mood for oatmeal raisin cookies, but didn’t like how big a batch oatmeal cookie recipes I found make.  So, I looked up an oatmeal raisin cookie bar recipe, and made that over the weekend.  After those were so freaking delicious, I wanted to try using the exact same recipe with chocolate chips, and it works like a charm!  The dough with chocolate chips is a lot stickier, because there aren’t any oats to absorb the moisture, but both taste phenomenal.  I don’t think I’ll ever make a cookie again, cookie bars all the way!
I thought it was pretty interesting, when I paid attention to what was in the recipe.  The cookie bar recipe is exactly like the brownie recipe I use, melted butter and all, except you don’t add cocoa powder, instead adding a full cup of sugar (for brownies, it’s one third cup cocoa powder and one half cup sugar).  Most cookie recipes have half brown and half white sugar, but I’ve never been one to do that and just use a full cup of white sugar.  I like the taste of the cookie a lot better that way, and it’s never disappointed.

Another interesting thing is the butter:  most, if not every, cookie recipe calls for softened butter beats into sugar to cream it.  But these use melted butter, and honestly I like the cookie a lot more with melted butter instead.  Last time, I did the creaming process, and it makes a bit more of a crispier cookies.  It’s still soft in the middle, but more of a doughy soft instead of a chewy soft.  I’m more of a chewy soft person, so the melted butter works better for me.  If you prefer a bit more of a traditional cookie with crispy sides and a doughy center, then cream the sugar with salted butter.

 

I’m really glad I experimented with this recipe to make chocolate chip cookies.  I’ve never tried to experiment with another recipe to do something else, and was half tempted to just use a chocolate chip cookie bar recipe, but I really wanted to try seeing how the exact same recipe from an oatmeal raisin cookie bar would work with chocolate chips.  So glad I did, because now I have a master recipe for cookie bars!  It’s interesting too, because adding different things after making the dough makes for a different texture of cookie.  With the oatmeal raisin, the bars came out a lot more chewy and gooey, like oatmeal raisin cookies usually do.  But with chocolate chips, it got that crisp chewy texture chocolate chip cookies usually have.  So I’m really excited to try out adding different topping to these bars, and seeing what other things result in texture-wise.
I think I’m finally mustering up the courage to try my own recipes:  I have my own ideas, but just haven’t had everything to test them out.  A few of them are a smore pie, which honestly is the one I want to try out the most XD

 

So that’s my baking adventure for the month!  It was a pretty delicious one.  I want to say these chocolate chip bars will last longer than a day, but the oatmeal raisin ones only lasted one day so…yeah not gonna happen XD

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

