March Piano Update

Quick piano update because I’m feeling a bit under the weather today.  Also a bit of a YouTube update!

 

In my last post, I mentioned adding more movement in my playing by having my left hand play a cord progression, while having the right play another part that would probably be considered the melody line/embellishment bits in whatever I’m playing.  I’ve found that instead of some sort of structured warm up/exercise program for learning, I work a lot better just noodling around on the keyboard and seeing what happens.  So I did that a few nights ago, and decided to try playing a chord with the sustain peddle on one hand, using the sustained cord as a backdrop for playing a few embellishment keys, then going to the next chord.  It worked pretty well, but I need to get down transitioning to the next chord after doing that sort of thing:  my fingers weren’t nimble enough to do a few separate key presses, then hit the full chord again, but it’s something I’m going to start practicing.  I’ll record it also to see hwo it sounds, and share it with you guys!  That’s pretty much it on the piano playing front, at this point most of my practicing comes with making up arrangements and noodling around with different chord progressions, adding things to said progressions.  I’ve stopped being afraid of using the black keys with things, and wow what a difference they make!  So I’ve been seeing how doing the 1-3-5 chord is with a sharp and flat in there, seeing how the chords I’ve learned sound with those augmentations and they sound so much different, I’m a little annoyed I was nervous to use the black keys before!  When you just start plugging them into chord progressions you already know, they get a lot less intimidating than AHHH they are black keys AHHHH.
But yeah, excited to see how adding the black keys to arrangements will change the dynamics of arranging things.  I’ve been trying to work on arranging for original pieces, and just working through that has made the thought of doing so not as difficult as I originally thought.  Will I have an original piece by the end of March?  I’m hoping at least a demo, but we’ll see if everything comes together by then.  I work better when I have lyrics written first, so I’ll probably work on that as well.  But I just wanted to get used to hashing out chord progressions for something not a cover, which I’ve been working through decently well.
I’ve been sitting on an arrangement I need to just record vocals for and mix, which is a Final Fantasy VI cover with lyrics I wrote for the character theme.  I’m going to get it out by the end of March, to keep my two covers a month upload schedule.
And that’s pretty much it!  Small, but important strides both with YouTube and piano playing.  Fingers crossed I can get a demo for an original song done by the end of March!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

2 thoughts on “March Piano Update”

  1. You’re going to do an original piece? Can’t wait to hear it!

    The black keys are the best keys, but as a totally amateur player I also have trouble when I have to make quick switches. Still, B and E flat are the most beautiful notes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Making an original isn’t foreign to me – I’ve made a few before but all a cappella, and learning to incorporate instruments into an original has been interesting to say th eleast haha. But yep, I’m making it a goal to work on an original piece with piano, even if it’s just with piano and super short XD

    I found this tip for using the black keys that works really well for me, which literally is just to move your hands way up to where the black keys are and dig in so to speak. Then you don’t have to worry about moving up from the white keys, because your hands are already close to the black and white keys. Still getting used to using the white keys so high up, but it works nicely! I love all the black keys, they make everything sound either so pretty or so beery. I think my favorite has to be the highest section, just soooo pretty and makes the highest keys actually useful haha. And using the black keys has opened up my composing brain a bit more, so woo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

