Something Looks Different Here…

If you haven’t already noticed, I’ve changed the theme of my blog!  I’ve been wanting to do so for a while, after I made my new blog and saw the default theme over there was a lot nicer looking  (and actually showed my links instead of them being in a side bar) so I finally took the time to find the same theme over here and make the switch.  I love how it looks!  I’m a huge fan of the having full blog posts visible format because I personally don’t like having to click read more when I want to read more of a post haha.  And I added recent posts, archives, and categories’ to my bottom menus, yay!  This blog to me was a bit messy, so it’s nice to be organizing it.  So now, at the bottom of the blog, those three categories are there for easier blog viewing!
When I set Categories’  to be a section at the bottom of each post, I noticed I had way too many.  I know I talk about a lot of things here, but I had 23 categories’ which was over kill, and a lot of them were repetitive so I streamlined a bit.  A lot better than the 40 or so I initially had when I first started blogging, and thought categories were tags 😄 I still would like to narrow down a bit, I’d like to have ten sections to choose from and have eleven right now so still working on organizing those a bit.  Here are the new categories’  and a breakdown of what they used to be:

 

Life Updates and Chit Chat:  Basically my rants, ramblings, and introspections, and any life update. I had three different sections for this before, so wanted to just make one section for all of those.  I’m trying to move things into that section but I have 200 posts to go through so I’m just going to find what I can and what I can’t will probably be in uncategorized.  Music Updates won’t go here, and will be in my ‘Crystal Dennis Music’ section.

Creative Writing/Poetry:  I just smooshed creative writing and poetry into one category because having two was silly when they are both writing themed.

Composing Music/Songwriting:  Just like above, smooshed these two together

Jewelry Making:  Got rid of all the subsections that were like “Wire work” “chain maile” because it’s all just jewelry making

Cooking/Baking:  I just had this labeled cooking and wanted it to have baking too because let’s be real I do a lot more baking than cooking 😄

I got rid of the YouTube section, because the “Crystal Dennis Music” section is where all my YouTube stuff has always gone and I rarely used the YouTube category.  Since Crystal Dennis Music is the name of my YouTube channel, it works!

 

I also added new links to my primary menu up top.  I added my Patreon page, along with a cool new site I found that works as a one-time tip jar – it’s a super cute idea, so I figured I’d give it a go!  It’s a pay pal to pay pal transfer, and the catch phrase “Buy me a coffee” got me hooked because I’m a coffee fanatic. So, if you’d like to help out with a little tip instead of becoming a patron, that’s available to you as well!
I also added a contact Me form in the primary menu after being told I didn’t have one and it was a bit difficult to get in contact with me.  It’s not that I didn’t want a contact form, but this blogs default theme didn’t have one like the default over on The Blind Nerd had.  When seeing it over there I realized it would be a nice feature, so looked into making one for here and it was a lot simpler than I thought it would be to make, so now if you’d like to contact me, you can click on the contact me link underneath the About Me section!

 

So yeah, still working on organizing here, but super happy with how it looks so far!  Will I get graphics or a banner made eventually?  …proooobably?  It’s something I’ve debated but I can never think of good art for those sorts of things.  I’d like to get a new URL eventually too but you know baby steps~  Either way, I hope you like the new layout of the blog!  And to think this all started just because I needed to make a contact form for over here 😄

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

