A Cool New Resource – Video Game Music Academy

Today, I thought I’d share this really cool resource I found by googling a few nights ago, Video Game Music Academy!  It’s a funny story how I found it.  I was looking up tips on how to compose fantasy music, and the article on the site that went in detail about the different music theory concepts you can learn from the theme of Final Fantasy VII popped up.  Being the major game nerd I am, I just had to click on that title!  It was a really in depth, interesting read on the different music theory concepts you can learn from how the theme was composed.  Some were concepts I knew, some were refresher courses, but all was really good information, because it was all in the context of video game music.  I’ve read about music theory before, but couldn’t entirely grasp every concept explained.  Through hearing examples via some of my favorite video game tunes however, I’m understanding concepts I’ve read about before a lot better.  And, I’m learning tips and tricks about composing video game music, which is right up my alley!  I’ve been trying to work on something video game inspired, like a town theme or something like that, so reading up how composers do it has really gotten my composing brain going!

 

Not only does the site have composing tips, but it also has interviews with video game composers, tips on networking and marketing in the industry (can be useful for any industry really) and just overall helpful advice on things like not getting burnt out.  Of course, my favorite section is the music composition tips and tricks, but that section is rather sparse (the blogger posted an article today, so I hope we get a lot more of those in the future) and really, the site is just fun to explore.  There’s also a resources section too!

 

 

I hope you enjoy this resource, and if you have any other resources to share, feel free to leave it in the comments!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

