Getting Some New Jewelry Supplies Woo!

I decided to buy a few jewelry supplies lately, because I’ve been in the mood to make something.  I’ve been itching to try out this supplier from India for gemstones, but making a huge purchase from them initially make me uneasy, so I just did a small purchase to see how it’ll go.  I’m really hoping it pans out, because there are great prices on the site, and the stones are amazing!  Really good sizes for a lot cheaper than you’d buy in the states.  I mean, I know it’ll pan out, but I’m just one of those better safe than sorry people.  What I got was a big ocean jasper, a nice piece of onyx and a honey tourmaline which I’ve seen all as pretty expensive.  But on this store, it’s 2 dollars each!  Such a steal.  What I initially wanted to get was only 40 dollars for sooo many, so I’m super excited to see how using the will work.

 

I have a specific idea for both the ocean jasper, and the onyx.  I have some dagger, shield, and helmet charms I thought would work well with the onyx, and I have mermaid charms I may try and implement  with the ocean jasper.  For the tourmaline, I think I may try a rainbow braid around the cab.  I really need to work on wrapping some cabs probably though, I haven’t done so in sucha  long time.

 

 

I’ve really been into making more delicate looking pendants too, and I thought, I really wanted some chain to add to the dangly, delicate style I really enjoy making.  I’ve never bought bulk chain however, because of how expensive it is: but I figured, why not search on Etzy for a supplier, see what pops up.  I wasn’t expecting anything, but I found a bulk supplier that had 32 feet of cable chain for 8 dollars!  That’s such a great deal!  The supplier had some other great deals, like lobster claw clasps (I really needed some) so I picked up enough to last me a long while.  I’m definitely going to use them again, because all the deals are awesome, and they’re a US company which I love to support.

 

 

So yeah, excited to get my supplies!  I have been wanting to make something for a while, and excited to get some new supplies I haven’t used before.  The chain is the thing I’m most excited for probably, like I said I’ve never been able to find a good price I’d been willing to pay for it before and I’m so stoked to be able to use it in designs!  I really need to start taking pictures of my work again, I feel like my style has evolved a lot since the last piece of jewelry I’ve posted:  I actually do stuff with the cabs I wrap, implementing  said cab into designs instead of just wrapping the cab and being done haha.  I got less rigid with just using wire and gemstones and  use cord, charms and other things I wouldn’t normally use when I first started so long ago.  So long story short, I need to  take more pictures of my jewelry lol.

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

