Baked Good of the Month – Yeastless Bread

This month I went for something not sweet, because I’ve had the recipe for a while.  I have yeast now, but when I looked for this recipe, I didn’t have yeast, and wanted to know if I could make bread without yeast.  I found a country style bread recipe I’ve had saved for months, and decided to give it a go!  I’m surprised that you can use baking powder instead of yeast to make bread, it comes out exactly the  same to me.

All in all, it is a really good recipe!  It’s super flexible, too:    You need 1 and ½ cups of any liquid for it, but it literally can be any liquid.  If you want a tea time bread, use a juice, want a more traditional biscuit taste, use milk or water (can be non-dairy milk, also) and the same goes for the fat you need to use.  You need ¼ of a cup of a fat, so like oil or butter.  I opted to use vegetable oil.  My brother says he likes the taste of the bread with the oil, but I think next time I’m going to try using butter because I’m not a huge fan of being able to taste the vegetable oil in the bread.  Other than that, it comes out really flaky and tastes great!  It’s an awesome base recipe, like I said, and I can’t wait to do other t hings with it, like dust the bread with sugar and cinnamon or actually use juice as a liquid.  One of my favorite things is getting a super flexible recipe  (like my cookie bar recipe) and using it a ton of different ways.  I’m sort of running out of recipes to try that I haven’t done already, so I really need to look for some more haha.  I have a few different cookies I haven’t done, and some different ways to make cheesecake, and pies and banana bread I really want to do. Oh, also custard!  So I guess when I think about it, I do have a lot of things I want to bake still XD

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

