21 Day VGM Challenge, The Halfway Point!

Today is day 11 of the 21 day music challenge I’m doing, and it’s been decently smooth sailing.  I had a problem coming up with something last night so I just made something up really quick, but that was the only time I really had issues with jotting something down.  I went back and listened to my stuff up to this point, and gotta say I’m really happy with what I can do with everything!  I heard a few parts I think I can put together to sound like a decent track, a few that I can easily flesh out into a full piece, and some that are just really nice chord progressions that remind me of techniques I want to practice more.  The runner of the event has been sending out tips, and I had to use a few of them to get my creative juices flowing again:  but all of them are really good tips that helped loads. A few good ones are using a drum loop to start and building from that, just using your voice and recording something down, and looking at genres of music from other countries to get inspiration.  I especially liked that last one because of how heavily I’m into Celtic and Japanese music, but I never think of composing from those angles unless I’m doing something lyrical.  It honestly was nice to have that little stumped moment last night because I was forced to write something no matter what to have done something for yesterday and it showed me that even if you don’t like it, you can just get something done, relisten when you’re in a better mood, and see if you can do anything with it later or if it really is just meh – I relistened this morning and went “Hm, yeah, I think I can do something with this” which also isn’t something I would think of doing before this challenge.  Before I’d be like, “This is garbage, next!” so that mindset change was nice, and unexpected!

 

One thing I’ve taken away from this that isn’t something I can suuuper change though, I need more VSTs!  I have a few freebies, but my 2 paid ones are honestly the best sounding ones (with good reason, they were expensive)  but ugh not having the money to buy some good woodwinds or something is driving me nuts.  I know I’m probably  going to have to buy instruments in bits and pieces, even though that will cost more than buying a full pack of orchestra instruments because I don’t think I’ll be able to save enough to get the sort of pack I would want anyway, so might as well get more Sonivox stuff that I really like (I’m eyeing you woodwinds and brass).

 

In other news, I got a really nice YouTube comment today!  And a new subscriber.  But they found my Radical Dreamers cover, said they were glad they stumbled across it, and subscribed.  Then went on to say they liked my Final Fantasy and Xenosaga stuff!  I know I don’t have a big subscriber count, but the quality of my subscribers always amazes me. That comment made my day, because they liked all the ones that I put a lot of effort into and aaah this is why I make music, I can’t describe how happy it made me they liked all of those covers!

 

That’s all I have to say about the challenge today!  By next week it’ll be over dun dun dun.  I’ll do another update post plus wrap up, and then start working on making these musical sketches into full blown tracks!

If you want to hear what I have so far, you can check out a playlist of my challenge pieces here!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

