Where Have I been? A Life Update

Hi guys, it’s been a while!  I figured I’d explain a bit about why I’ve been MIA on this blog because I tend to post on a regular basis on this one, where on The Blind Nerd I post when I have something to post.  The main reason is I just needed a break from the internet.  I guess a sort of media fast in a way.  I felt like the amount of using the internet and absorbing all of the pop culture media I was doing had gotten a bit out of hand, and was starting to impede on my walk with God.  I didn’t think it would really be this long, but I’ve mainly just been using the computer for when I actually need to use it for things, like mixing songs, looking up things, reading my Bible, and other than that and watching the occasional youtube video (which I’m also working on cutting down on) I disengaged from all the noise that is social media, and internet culture.  I really needed to disconnect, reaffirm my faith, and come back slowly but surely with a lot more discernment  to what types of shows, music, and media I expose my brain to.

 

Everyone’s walk  with Christ is different, and everyone has vices and temptations they have to try and stay away from.  For me, in a way, it was taking in soooo much of the pop culture media out there.  With the amount of shows trying to make statements, set themselves apart from other shows, and send messages for people to receive, it honestly was blurring  moral lines from black and white to gray, and for me personally that isn’t ok.  So like I said, just had to take a step back, start reading my Bible, spend more time with my family, and with Jesus.  I’m slowly trickling back into the fold but I don’t want to   be anywhere near as open to every piece of media that I used to be, because doing so was clouding my walk with God which also isn’t ok by any means.

 

So what have I been doing, you might ask?  Pretty much the same things I do when I’m offline – spend time with family, and bake!  I’ve been slacking on making jewelry but want to get back into that.  Also, been making music, and looking for old Gospel music and church hymns to listen to since I’m not finding too many modern Christian artists I’m liking.  If you have any good recommendations, I’d love some!

 

I haven’t posted too many baked goods of the month because…I sort of slacked on that haha.  I had 3 to catch up on in the month of August, but baked two new things and know the third thing I want to make to catch up with that resolution of mine.  Funnily enough, they’ve all been breads – I made a cherry bread, a banana bread, and am planning on making pita bread for the last catch up baked good of the month.  I’m super excited to do the pita bread, since I’ve been nervous to do any breads with yeast, and I’ve read that one is one of the easier breads to start with.  I probably would have made the pita by now if I wasn’t craving brownies and made those twice this weekend, but either way it will get done XD
The holidays are coming up too, so I’m really excited to bake some holiday goodies!  I’ll have individual posts about each of the breads coming, so look forward to that.

 

That’s all that’s been going on with me, hope the rest of you are doing well!  God bless!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

Leave a Reply

