One Month Anniversary of Playing the Piano!

One month of piano, and I feel like I’m getting the hang of it.  I notice my 2 hand coordination is getting better, and I’m getting more confident in my playing in general.  Am I confident enough to play a piece all the way through yet?  Not really, but I have been hashing out arrangements that I want to record as parts of arrangements, and that’s been helping me keep my playing motivation up.

 

I’ve mainly been focusing on arpeggio chords, and playing those while using my right hand for a melody.  I don’t know if that will help me accompany myself singing, but it’s been helping me build up my piano skillz so I figure it couldn’t hurt.  Basically, I’ve been practicing as much as I can until I get the chord I need to be able to record my keyboard on the computer, and I’m half excited, half nervous to actually be using it in a  cover.  But like I said, I’ve been practicing playing different arrangements for covers, so when it finally comes down to it, I don’t think it will be a major issue recording those parts at least.  I’ve also been having a lot of fun just noodling around, finding different melodies and harmonies with key combinations.  I think that’s been helping me a lot with figuring out not only piano playing, but learning music theory (even though I don’t know a lot of music theory terms lol).  A major tip I found amongst all the videos I’ve watched, is to just noodle around and have fun and learn that way, as well as warming up so I’ve been taking that to heart and honestly it’s the fastest way I’ve found I learn things on the piano.  Haven’t touched the black keys yet, though, those still intimidate me XD

 

So progress is progress, even though it’s slightly slow/probably a normal piano pace!  Next month, I’m hoping I’ll be able to record something as a little sample I can show for my next piano progress post, I think it would be fun to document my progress with recordings.  I have a lot of things that I’ll be DIYing and starting next month, which I can’t wait for, all music related so I will definitely be posting about that when it happens!

Author: Crystal

A California based musician who is as passionate about music as she is video games,, Crystal (or ValkyrieCeles around the interwebs) loves to gush about her various nerdtastic loves, rant about anything currently catching her fancy, and generally just express herself in any creative outlet she can get her hands on. An avid reader, writer, and dreamer, Crystal has been leaving pieces of herself around the internet since 2006.

One thought on “One Month Anniversary of Playing the Piano!”

Leave a comment